Animatedprops Tutorial (FAQ)

In this forum you will find and post information regarding the modding of Star Wars Battlefront 2. DO NOT POST MOD IDEAS/REQUESTS.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
Snork
Lieutenant General
Lieutenant General
Posts: 669
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 3:34 pm
Games I'm Playing :: SWBF2 and Minecraft
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Contact:

RE: Animatedprops Tutorial

Post by Snork »

You all know about Jabba on Jabbas Palace. You think, Oh! I want Jabba in my map! So you put him in your map, and it crashes the game. You go to the forums, and see you need the munged folder of Tatooine. So I got thinking, it uses ANIMS files. Regular units use ANIMS files. So here we have Jabba's ODf:

Code: Select all

[GameObjectClass]

ClassLabel = "animatedprop"
GeometryName = "tat3_bldg_jabba.msh"


[Properties]

GeometryName = "tat3_bldg_jabba"
AnimationName = "tat3_bldg_jabba"
Animation = "idle"
Animation = "grab"

SoundProperty = "jabba_amb"

AnimationTrigger = "grab hp_hotspot 3.0"
So I copied the ODF file and changed it to:

Code: Select all

[GameObjectClass]

ClassLabel = "animatedprop"
GeometryName = "gam_inf_gamorreanguard.msh"


[Properties]

GeometryName = "gam_inf_gamorreanguard"
AnimationName = "gam"
Animation = "gam_sabre_stand_walkforward"


SoundProperty = ""

After taking all the Gamorrean MSH and MUNGED files out of the GAM assets folder, putting them in the world folder, and placing one, guess what happens. I got a prop ingame of a Gamorean running in place. But anyway, heres how you get the anims.

Go to the assets/sides/Gam/MUNGED folder. In there, there is an ANIMS file named Gam. go into that file with notepad and you will see this:

Code: Select all

ucft
{
ANIM
{
"gam_sabre_diveforward"
"gam_sabre_stand_attack1a"
"gam_sabre_stand_death_backward"
"gam_sabre_stand_death_forward"
"gam_sabre_stand_death_left"
"gam_sabre_stand_death_right"
"gam_sabre_stand_getupback"
"gam_sabre_stand_getupfront"
"gam_sabre_stand_hitback"
"gam_sabre_stand_hitfront"
"gam_sabre_stand_hitleft"
"gam_sabre_stand_hitright"
"gam_sabre_stand_idle_emote"
"gam_sabre_stand_landhard"
"gam_sabre_stand_landsoft"
"gam_sabre_stand_runbackward"
"gam_sabre_stand_runforward"
"gam_sabre_stand_walkforward"
}
}

When you find an animation that sounds good, scroll to the bottom of this post and copy the template Propanim ODF. Highlight the animation name you want without the quotes and put it here:

Code: Select all

AnimationName = "gam"
Animation = "gam_sabre_stand_walkforward"
Also important, for AnimationName put the name of the anim file, gam in this case.

After that, copy the Munged from Gam, and all the MSH, TGA and OPTION files you need, and bam, place it in a map, and it should work. Please Note: Some animations I have tried with this method crash the game. DO NOT make a new Animprop and put it into a map your working on without first making sure it works on a testmap. Thankyou for reading, I hope this helped. Here is the animprop template:

Code: Select all

[GameObjectClass]

ClassLabel = "animatedprop"
GeometryName = ".msh"


[Properties]

GeometryName = ""
AnimationName = ""
Animation = ""


SoundProperty = ""
EGG_GUTS
Master Bounty Hunter
Master Bounty Hunter
Posts: 1626
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 7:38 pm
Projects :: No Mod project currently.
Games I'm Playing :: I have not listed any games yet
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: CANADA!

Post by EGG_GUTS »

Nice find. I'm glad they started letting people join again.
Caleb1117
2008 Most Original Avatar
Posts: 3096
Joined: Sun Aug 20, 2006 5:55 pm
Projects :: No Mod project currently.
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: X-Fire: caleb1117 ಠ_ಠ

Post by Caleb1117 »

Neat, so using this I could make an animated Idle emperor. (hintthe_emperorhint)
User avatar
Snork
Lieutenant General
Lieutenant General
Posts: 669
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 3:34 pm
Games I'm Playing :: SWBF2 and Minecraft
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Contact:

Post by Snork »

Yup! I'll try and make one for you. I'm bored right now, so I might as well.
Caleb1117
2008 Most Original Avatar
Posts: 3096
Joined: Sun Aug 20, 2006 5:55 pm
Projects :: No Mod project currently.
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: X-Fire: caleb1117 ಠ_ಠ

Post by Caleb1117 »

Wow, thanks that would save me some precious time.
Time I could use to learn to spell X- I
User avatar
Snork
Lieutenant General
Lieutenant General
Posts: 669
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 3:34 pm
Games I'm Playing :: SWBF2 and Minecraft
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Contact:

Post by Snork »

hmmm....crashed the game

EDIT
I had a feeling it would. Every time I mess with the emperor it either crashes my game, doesnt come out the way I want, or messes up the model
Rekubot
Jedi
Jedi
Posts: 1080
Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2006 12:34 pm
Projects :: No Mod project currently.
Games I'm Playing :: Shadow Complex
xbox live or psn: Rekubot
Location: UK

Post by Rekubot »

Thanks man, nice tutorial. Oh, and welcome to Gametoast! It's not everybody who makes a tutorial in their second post ;).

It may be to do with the fact that the Emperor has a cloth material attached. You could try removing it and seeing what happens then, but then again I don't think you actually can remove his cloak.
The_Emperor
Supreme Galactic Ruler
Posts: 2118
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2005 6:30 am
Projects :: No Mod project currently.
Games I'm Playing :: I have not listed any games yet
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: Waaaaay over there.

Post by The_Emperor »

Messing with the Emperor is bad :D

Nice tut man,and welcome to GT :D I'd be quite happy ifyou would be able to make an animated Emperor prop :D
User avatar
Snork
Lieutenant General
Lieutenant General
Posts: 669
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 3:34 pm
Games I'm Playing :: SWBF2 and Minecraft
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Contact:

Post by Snork »

No, you can remove his cloak. It has to do with his animation or something. The other thing, is that the cloak WOULDN'T be on him, so he would look freaked out. Notice in the pic I posted, Vader has no cape.
Qdin
Old School Staff
Posts: 2059
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2005 9:54 am
Projects :: No Mod project currently.
Games I'm Playing :: I have not listed any games yet
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Post by Qdin »

I've done this months ago :P

Unfortunately I ended up with a small problem with the collision... (didn't read your tutorial through - browsed it swiftly :roll: )

So you've got a collisionproblem or..?
Post Reply