Upper City?

For discussion, WIPs, and downloads of the DMI (Dynamic Map Idea)

Moderator: Moderators

Hoth Battle Chief
User avatar
Posts: 3401
Joined: Sun Aug 20, 2006 9:25 am

Re: Upper City?

Postby Dohnutt » Wed Jul 02, 2008 8:19 am

trainmaster611 wrote:And I like frag's idea, can I make an elevated train for moving around the upper levels? :D

Or maybe just some sort of trolley? Personally, I like that idea way better for the upper city.

Also, Empy and I's building won't be up high. We'll be using someone else's elevator or a flyer to get up.

2008 Most Technically Challenging Avatar
User avatar
Posts: 2376
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 7:46 pm
Location: NJ, USA
Projects :: No Mod project currently.
Games I'm Playing :: League of Legends
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: Upper City?

Postby obiboba3po » Wed Jul 02, 2008 8:53 am

i like the elevated train. like a monorail. ive always wanted to see one of those in bf2 lol.

Gametoast Staff
User avatar
Posts: 1353
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 4:10 pm

Re: Upper City?

Postby RepSharpshooter » Wed Jul 02, 2008 12:52 pm

Maveritchell wrote:I may have been mistaken about the height of my building. I underestimated it and by my approximation it stands at about 90-100 meters. However, its top level is about the height of that platform you're showing in the picture in the first post (assuming that building is the same as the building in the downloadable DMI world, heightwise). So what's the deal?


I scaled up that building, that's why. 175 meters seemed to allow ample room below, and was a common height between all of the tall buildings that were in existence.

2008 Best Amateur Avatar
User avatar
Posts: 256
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 6:49 pm
Location: Somewhere in the Midwest

Re: Upper City?

Postby Crazy_Ewok » Wed Jul 02, 2008 2:59 pm

I started modeling an extension to my house and it's going well, but how do I tell how tall it is in XSI.

Hoth Battle Chief
User avatar
Posts: 3352
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 7:03 pm
xbox live or psn: fluffytherc

Re: Upper City?

Postby Fluffy_the_ic » Wed Jul 02, 2008 3:13 pm

Why not make a flyer parking Garage?
EDIT: *coughdibscough*

Jedi Admin
User avatar
Posts: 7421
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 11:03 pm

Re: Upper City?

Postby Maveritchell » Wed Jul 02, 2008 3:37 pm

Crazy_Ewok wrote:...how do I tell how tall it is in XSI.


1 grid square == 1 meter.

High General
User avatar
Posts: 895
Joined: Sat Sep 02, 2006 6:47 pm
Location: London
Projects :: Thinking...
Games I'm Playing :: Black Ops

Re: Upper City?

Postby wazmol » Wed Jul 02, 2008 5:38 pm

so will this upper level cover the whole city?

Jedi Admin
User avatar
Posts: 7421
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 11:03 pm

Re: Upper City?

Postby Maveritchell » Wed Jul 02, 2008 5:46 pm

Fluffy_the_ic wrote:Why not make a flyer parking Garage?
EDIT: *coughdibscough*


What do you think my starport is? :) Actually, in further extension it's going to add at least one more, larger hangar. There should be plenty of places to land/take off from. (Especially since the map'll have no landingregions and you can pretty much land on anything. :P)

Gametoast Staff
User avatar
Posts: 2981
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 7:36 am
Location: USA
Projects :: Bos Wars AI - a RTS game
Games I'm Playing :: SWBF2 and Bos Wars
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: Upper City?

Postby [RDH]Zerted » Wed Jul 02, 2008 5:48 pm

If the elevators are only going from the ground level to the air level and not going to other places in the building, then you don't want to use a real elevator. Elevators have a lot more problems when compared to teleporters. Instead of the elevator, you should fake it with teleporters.

Have the person enter a room, close the doors on both levels, teleport him to the ground/air level room, then re-open both doors. You can even add in a timer delay before/after teleporting to make it seem more like an elevator. It will feel like an elevator, but without all of an elevator's problems.

Hoth Battle Chief
User avatar
Posts: 3401
Joined: Sun Aug 20, 2006 9:25 am

Re: Upper City?

Postby Dohnutt » Wed Jul 02, 2008 5:53 pm

[RDH]Zerted wrote:If the elevators are only going from the ground level to the air level and not going to other places in the building, then you don't want to use a real elevator. Elevators have a lot more problems when compared to teleporters. Instead of the elevator, you should fake it with teleporters.

Have the person enter a room, close the doors on both levels, teleport him to the ground/air level room, then re-open both doors. You can even add in a timer delay before/after teleporting to make it seem more like an elevator. It will feel like an elevator, but without all of an elevator's problems.

Well, I dunno if teleporters are actually in Star Wars, so maybe that's why you say fake it, but other than that, I don't see any reason to fake it. Though your idea sounds pretty sweet :D

Jedi Admin
User avatar
Posts: 7421
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 11:03 pm

Re: Upper City?

Postby Maveritchell » Wed Jul 02, 2008 6:00 pm

Dohnutt wrote:Well, I dunno if teleporters are actually in Star Wars, so maybe that's why you say fake it, but other than that, I don't see any reason to fake it. Though your idea sounds pretty sweet :D


It's not about them being "transporters" a la Star Trek. It's solely a functional thing. As long as it's a single-direction elevator, you can create the exact same effect as traveling up an elevator shaft using teleporters (as long as the doors close no one'll notice), without having to worry about collision issues, or moving too fast, or "bouncing" on the way down. (For example, I did this in Space Endor with the tram that went from one side of the ship to another. Something like that is virtually indistinguishable from an elevator.)

Captain
User avatar
Posts: 496
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2008 11:02 pm

Re: Upper City?

Postby Blade » Wed Jul 02, 2008 6:49 pm

Hm, this isn't a technical thing at all, just one thing I hate about Bf2's "teleporters." Is there a way to either A: Do something in ZE, or B: Do something in the scripting so that the node places you facing the same direction that you did when you entered the teleport region? As I said, it's no big deal to me, just I think it would be a lot more realistic if you don't notice "Hey! I just spun 180 degrees from where I was! This elevator's Haunted! :shock:"

:P

2008 Most Original Avatar
User avatar
Posts: 3101
Joined: Sun Aug 20, 2006 5:55 pm
Location: X-Fire: caleb1117 ಠ_ಠ
Projects :: No Mod project currently.
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: Upper City?

Postby Caleb1117 » Wed Jul 02, 2008 7:41 pm

Blade wrote:Hm, this isn't a technical thing at all, just one thing I hate about Bf2's "teleporters." Is there a way to either A: Do something in ZE, or B: Do something in the scripting so that the node places you facing the same direction that you did when you entered the teleport region? As I said, it's no big deal to me, just I think it would be a lot more realistic if you don't notice "Hey! I just spun 180 degrees from where I was! This elevator's Haunted! :shock:"

:P


The nodes can be rotated so you face the same way.

Captain
User avatar
Posts: 496
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2008 11:02 pm

Re: Upper City?

Postby Blade » Wed Jul 02, 2008 9:00 pm

Caleb1117 wrote:
Blade wrote:Hm, this isn't a technical thing at all, just one thing I hate about Bf2's "teleporters." Is there a way to either A: Do something in ZE, or B: Do something in the scripting so that the node places you facing the same direction that you did when you entered the teleport region? As I said, it's no big deal to me, just I think it would be a lot more realistic if you don't notice "Hey! I just spun 180 degrees from where I was! This elevator's Haunted! :shock:"

:P


The nodes can be rotated so you face the same way.


I know that :D. But what I'm saying is that, not everyone is going to go in the same way. But it was more of a wish, not at all necessity.

Jedi
User avatar
Posts: 1233
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 3:13 pm

Re: Upper City?

Postby Frisbeetarian » Thu Jul 03, 2008 1:04 am

If everyone uses 2 regions for their teleporters, you're going to run out of regions pretty fast.

Sith
Posts: 1323
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 9:40 pm

Re: Upper City?

Postby Fingerfood » Thu Jul 03, 2008 3:36 am

Frisbeetarian wrote:If everyone uses 2 regions for their teleporters, you're going to run out of regions pretty fast.

Eh... 35 elevators. :P

No, I think there should be only elevators in central popular buildings. Well, at least teleport elevators. In the other ones, I don't think manual ones would be that bad.

Also, I think it would be cool if, like in Coruscant Streets, there are lots of flashing signs and billboards hanging on buildings, hanging from platforms, etc. Hey, would it be possible to have a moving object that moved around the city that carried a huge billboard with a scrolling texture on it? That would be fun.

Hoth Battle Chief
User avatar
Posts: 3401
Joined: Sun Aug 20, 2006 9:25 am

Re: Upper City?

Postby Dohnutt » Thu Jul 03, 2008 7:28 am

I know that . But what I'm saying is that, not everyone is going to go in the same way. But it was more of a wish, not at all necessity.

But if you made walls around the teleporter, people could only go in one way.

Fingerfood wrote:Also, I think it would be cool if, like in Coruscant Streets, there are lots of flashing signs and billboards hanging on buildings, hanging from platforms, etc. Hey, would it be possible to have a moving object that moved around the city that carried a huge billboard with a scrolling texture on it? That would be fun.

Like a blimp!

Hoth Battle Chief
User avatar
Posts: 3352
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 7:03 pm
xbox live or psn: fluffytherc

Re: Upper City?

Postby Fluffy_the_ic » Thu Jul 03, 2008 10:11 am

Maveritchell wrote:
Fluffy_the_ic wrote:Why not make a flyer parking Garage?
EDIT: *coughdibscough*


What do you think my starport is? :) Actually, in further extension it's going to add at least one more, larger hangar. There should be plenty of places to land/take off from. (Especially since the map'll have no landingregions and you can pretty much land on anything. :P)

Well, yours struck me as Mav's Stuff only. My building is my stuff only on the ground level, but the top level, very high up, I might add, is just for anybody's stuff to be parked only.Then there's a tall brick cylinder and three transparent rooms for showcasing.

2nd Lieutenant
User avatar
Posts: 405
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 3:11 pm
Location: Location Location.

Re: Upper City?

Postby PsYcH0_]-[aMsT3r » Thu Jul 03, 2008 10:51 am

Teleporters are possible to do. TheITfactor did it in The Pwnfest which rocked. the only thing is with the teleporter as elevator is that u face a different way after teleporting and you about 0.01th of a second were the screen goes white.

Jedi
User avatar
Posts: 1105
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2007 6:04 am
Location: Germany
Projects :: Inactive

Re: Upper City?

Postby Aman/Pinguin » Thu Jul 03, 2008 10:53 am

PsYcH0_]-[aMsT3r wrote:Teleporters are possible to do.

ORLY?
PsYcH0_]-[aMsT3r wrote:the only thing is with the teleporter as elevator is that u face a different way after teleporting and you about 0.01th of a second were the screen goes white.


That's what we (they) are talking about the whole time. ô.o

PreviousNext

Return to The Dynamic Project

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest