Village

For discussion, WIPs, and downloads of the DMI (Dynamic Map Idea)

Moderator: Moderators

Sith Lord
User avatar
Posts: 1779
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 5:22 pm
Location: Building a railway to Coruscant

Village

Postby trainmaster611 » Mon Jun 30, 2008 12:35 am

Would anyone be up for creating a village separate (and far away) from the main DMI city? I don't want it to rival the DMI city but we should have activites to do out there that you couldn't normally have in a big city. Like maybe hunting or something. Any ideas?

Hoth Battle Chief
User avatar
Posts: 3401
Joined: Sun Aug 20, 2006 9:25 am

Re: Village

Postby Dohnutt » Mon Jun 30, 2008 1:03 am

Would we have enough room for that on the map?

Jedi
User avatar
Posts: 1105
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2007 6:04 am
Location: Germany
Projects :: Inactive

Re: Village

Postby Aman/Pinguin » Mon Jun 30, 2008 2:30 am

I think first we need to wait for the object count.

Gametoast Staff
User avatar
Posts: 1353
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 4:10 pm

Re: Village

Postby RepSharpshooter » Mon Jun 30, 2008 9:18 am

Good point, we may be pushing it with object numbers.

Supreme Galactic Ruler
User avatar
Posts: 2157
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2005 6:30 am
Location: Waaaaay over there.

Re: Village

Postby The_Emperor » Mon Jun 30, 2008 9:26 am

Yeah, I'd rather have a more lively big city than a smaller city and an extra village. Besides, as far as I'm concerned, the activities shouldn't be too far away from one another.

Hoth Battle Chief
User avatar
Posts: 3352
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 7:03 pm
xbox live or psn: fluffytherc

Re: Village

Postby Fluffy_the_ic » Mon Jun 30, 2008 9:56 am

Well, then if this WERE to happen, the distance wouldn't be a problem, because train could just put a subway station there, too. I like the idea, and besides, couldn't we send it all to some with a full exporter (not me) and merge village into one big item in XSI?

2nd Lieutenant
User avatar
Posts: 405
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 3:11 pm
Location: Location Location.

Re: Village

Postby PsYcH0_]-[aMsT3r » Mon Jun 30, 2008 10:56 am

Fluffy_the_ic wrote:Well, then if this WERE to happen, the distance wouldn't be a problem, because train could just put a subway station there, too. I like the idea, and besides, couldn't we send it all to some with a full exporter (not me) and merge village into one big item in XSI?


Hmm we could try but that would make the village need to be extremely low detailed or very small because of the poly count. Apart from that i like the idea but like 'Empy' :quotes: said, I think a bigger city would be better.

Jedi Admin
User avatar
Posts: 7421
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 11:03 pm

Re: Village

Postby Maveritchell » Mon Jun 30, 2008 11:05 am

Aman/Pinguin wrote:I think first we need to wait for the object count.


I agree; I think suggesting anything at this point like another set of buildings is going to be pushing it not only object-limit-wise, but spacewise as well. Remember that this "city" is no small area, and a map's only so big. Plus you have to consider that the outside of town is going to require objects anyway - trees, rocks, assorted "nature" objects.

Hoth Battle Chief
User avatar
Posts: 3401
Joined: Sun Aug 20, 2006 9:25 am

Re: Village

Postby Dohnutt » Mon Jun 30, 2008 11:08 am

Maveritchell wrote:
Aman/Pinguin wrote:I think first we need to wait for the object count.


I agree; I think suggesting anything at this point like another set of buildings is going to be pushing it not only object-limit-wise, but spacewise as well. Remember that this "city" is no small area, and a map's only so big. Plus you have to consider that the outside of town is going to require objects anyway - trees, rocks, assorted "nature" objects.

Yeah, that's what I was trying to say... :P

Jedi Admin
User avatar
Posts: 11093
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2005 11:42 pm
Location: Indiana
Projects :: No Mod project currently.
Games I'm Playing :: Destiny
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: Village

Postby Teancum » Mon Jun 30, 2008 12:13 pm

Fluffy_the_ic wrote:Well, then if this WERE to happen, the distance wouldn't be a problem, because train could just put a subway station there, too. I like the idea, and besides, couldn't we send it all to some with a full exporter (not me) and merge village into one big item in XSI?


A subway that goes to a village? :funny2:

Hoth Battle Chief
User avatar
Posts: 3352
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 7:03 pm
xbox live or psn: fluffytherc

Re: Village

Postby Fluffy_the_ic » Mon Jun 30, 2008 1:24 pm

Actually, yeeah, that does sound odd... Actually, each lot could have it's own personal vehicle that would eith come in the prefab pack or they model, so they could get ther quicker.

Sith Lord
User avatar
Posts: 1779
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 5:22 pm
Location: Building a railway to Coruscant

Re: Village

Postby trainmaster611 » Mon Jun 30, 2008 1:53 pm

Aman/Pinguin wrote:I think first we need to wait for the object count.


When I said village, I didn't mean something the size of the DMI city with smaller buildings. I was thinking like 5 - 8 buildings.

The_Emperor wrote:Yeah, I'd rather have a more lively big city than a smaller city and an extra village. Besides, as far as I'm concerned, the activities shouldn't be too far away from one another.


Who says that if we have a village, the DMI city has to be small? :?

Teancum wrote:
Fluffy_the_ic wrote:Well, then if this WERE to happen, the distance wouldn't be a problem, because train could just put a subway station there, too. I like the idea, and besides, couldn't we send it all to some with a full exporter (not me) and merge village into one big item in XSI?


A subway that goes to a village? :funny2:


I'm actually modeling a high-speed train right now :wink: Plus, my house was going to be a train station, so that would provide a place for it to stop in DMI city.

I'll post a pic in an hour, cuz I got to go atm.

First Lance Corporal
User avatar
Posts: 121
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2007 6:57 pm
Location: United States:GA

Re: Village

Postby SlyCoopersButt » Mon Jun 30, 2008 3:44 pm

I love how that train looks, It's a normal train as I would expect to see! I'm sure this was just the project you were waiting for to get to make a train in BFII! And you did a really good job at it.

Sith
User avatar
Posts: 1361
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2007 10:17 pm
Location: The lost world of pickels

Re: Village

Postby woner11 » Fri Jul 04, 2008 10:46 am

For the object count counldn't someone just design the village on Maya or XSI and then combine everything into one object for putting it ingame?

Jedi
User avatar
Posts: 1105
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2007 6:04 am
Location: Germany
Projects :: Inactive

Re: Village

Postby Aman/Pinguin » Fri Jul 04, 2008 11:06 am

PsYcH0_]-[aMsT3r wrote:Hmm we could try but that would make the village need to be extremely low detailed or very small because of the poly count.

Sith
User avatar
Posts: 1361
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2007 10:17 pm
Location: The lost world of pickels

Re: Village

Postby woner11 » Fri Jul 04, 2008 11:30 am

Sorry I didn't see that.

trainmaster611 wrote:When I said village, I didn't mean something the size of the DMI city with smaller buildings. I was thinking like 5 - 8 buildings.


What type of village are we talking about? Is this like the native american teepes (sorry if I misspelled) or a kashyykish thing with huts, or just a rural area, or something else entirely.

Command Sergeant Major
User avatar
Posts: 283
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2007 1:26 pm

Re: Village

Postby HobGoblin_264 » Fri Jul 04, 2008 11:41 am

Instead of a village, we should add a island in the middle of the lake. There we could maybe have only 2 or 3 huts and a couple trees. We could add things like wampas and other creatures (we could make them up maybe) for hunting.

Jedi
User avatar
Posts: 1105
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2007 6:04 am
Location: Germany
Projects :: Inactive

Re: Village

Postby Aman/Pinguin » Fri Jul 04, 2008 11:42 am

I think the map needs to be finished first. Then we should speak about additions.

Sith
User avatar
Posts: 1361
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2007 10:17 pm
Location: The lost world of pickels

Re: Village

Postby woner11 » Fri Jul 04, 2008 12:22 pm

I just finished modeling 3 new creatures, so if you all want them we could add them. They still need skinning, animations, and to be converted to msh format.

Sith Lord
User avatar
Posts: 1779
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 5:22 pm
Location: Building a railway to Coruscant

Re: Village

Postby trainmaster611 » Fri Jul 04, 2008 12:30 pm

Two ideas I was thinking of: a beach side resort and a wildlife preserve.

Next

Return to The Dynamic Project

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest