Dynamic Map Idea (all lots open for taking)

For discussion, WIPs, and downloads of the DMI (Dynamic Map Idea)

Moderator: Moderators

Does this need a "hosted mod" forum?

Yes
16
84%
No
3
16%
 
Total votes : 19
Gametoast Staff
User avatar
Posts: 1353
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 4:10 pm

Re: Dynamic Map Idea (all lots open for taking)

Postby RepSharpshooter » Wed Jun 25, 2008 7:42 pm

put settings on low, water on low, remove water if need be. Else it's your fault

Captain
User avatar
Posts: 496
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2008 11:02 pm

Re: Dynamic Map Idea (all lots open for taking)

Postby Blade » Wed Jun 25, 2008 7:59 pm

I'm thinking I may forget the whole "make your own" building thing, as I haven't worked out all the kinks in my modelling abilities yet. I think I may just have to make something truly amazing out of the Prefabs :P.

Hoth Battle Chief
User avatar
Posts: 3352
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 7:03 pm
xbox live or psn: fluffytherc

Re: Dynamic Map Idea (all lots open for taking)

Postby Fluffy_the_ic » Wed Jun 25, 2008 8:19 pm

Well, I put in my layer, and then munged. I have my settings on low and everything, it crashes about 5/6s through loading. Yeah, it probably is my fault. but I really need a simpler tut on terraincutters. I wanna say it's a null, but according to Bandu's tut, it's not.

Gametoast Staff
User avatar
Posts: 2267
Joined: Sat May 13, 2006 12:34 am
Location: Origin name GT_FragMe
Projects :: Not sure keep changing my mind.
Games I'm Playing :: F1 and SWBF
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: Dynamic Map Idea (all lots open for taking)

Postby FragMe! » Wed Jun 25, 2008 8:50 pm

terraincutter is nothing more than a cube in most cases.
Create a cube primitive, size it to your needs (just very slightly bigger)
Put so it is half above ground level and half below.
rename it terraincutter or terraincutter1 if you have more than one
put it under the dummy root. hide it (H key)
branch select dummyroot and export
Put your object in ZE look at it and if it is right you should see a pink square.

That's as easy as I can make the tut :P

Rebel Colonel
User avatar
Posts: 597
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 9:10 pm
Location: I'm sorry Link, I can't give the location. Come back when you're a little...mmmh...RICHER!

Re: Dynamic Map Idea (all lots open for taking)

Postby phazon_elite » Wed Jun 25, 2008 9:23 pm

On second thought, may I have squares N1 and N2? I think it'll be easier to get to for what I'm doing.

Hoth Battle Chief
User avatar
Posts: 3352
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 7:03 pm
xbox live or psn: fluffytherc

Re: Dynamic Map Idea (all lots open for taking)

Postby Fluffy_the_ic » Wed Jun 25, 2008 10:22 pm

@Fragme!: I get everything 'cept the dummyroot part. still learnin' 'bout the 'splorer here. Where is it? The only time I ever see it is when I use PsychoFred's bones.

Gametoast Staff
User avatar
Posts: 2267
Joined: Sat May 13, 2006 12:34 am
Location: Origin name GT_FragMe
Projects :: Not sure keep changing my mind.
Games I'm Playing :: F1 and SWBF
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: Dynamic Map Idea (all lots open for taking)

Postby FragMe! » Wed Jun 25, 2008 11:02 pm

You create it, go to Primitive select Null it puts a 3d cross at 0,0,0 leave it there rename it to dummyroot, drag and drop all your model bits under it.

Hoth Battle Chief
User avatar
Posts: 3352
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 7:03 pm
xbox live or psn: fluffytherc

Re: Dynamic Map Idea (all lots open for taking)

Postby Fluffy_the_ic » Wed Jun 25, 2008 11:06 pm

So I move everything into dummyroot's plus-sign thing, or just have everything sit under it in the line?

Gametoast Staff
User avatar
Posts: 2267
Joined: Sat May 13, 2006 12:34 am
Location: Origin name GT_FragMe
Projects :: Not sure keep changing my mind.
Games I'm Playing :: F1 and SWBF
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: Dynamic Map Idea (all lots open for taking)

Postby FragMe! » Wed Jun 25, 2008 11:14 pm

Yes everything except for defaultsceneroot the cameras and light.
If you are continuing to have problems create a post in XSI topic so this can get back to DMI Thx

Jedi
User avatar
Posts: 1233
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 3:13 pm

Re: Dynamic Map Idea (all lots open for taking)

Postby Frisbeetarian » Wed Jun 25, 2008 11:49 pm

Are the nulls represented by the alpha, beta, gamma Euler angles, or just spherical coordinates?
Also, are you using quaternions as an arbitrary (though maybe easier) choice, or because not using them would have made a certain part a whole lot harder?

2nd Lieutenant
User avatar
Posts: 405
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 3:11 pm
Location: Location Location.

Re: Dynamic Map Idea (all lots open for taking)

Postby PsYcH0_]-[aMsT3r » Thu Jun 26, 2008 7:51 am

Hmm i guess I'd like to join in with this sounds awesome! I dont care what part its in. Ill get my model done as soon as i can.

Jedi Admin
User avatar
Posts: 11093
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2005 11:42 pm
Location: Indiana
Projects :: No Mod project currently.
Games I'm Playing :: Destiny
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: Dynamic Map Idea (all lots open for taking)

Postby Teancum » Thu Jun 26, 2008 8:11 am

I've added a Dynamic Map Project forum (below the 607th Saga forum). Please let me know if ya'll can post in it, then I'll move this topic there.

Gametoast Staff
User avatar
Posts: 1353
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 4:10 pm

Re: Dynamic Map Idea (all lots open for taking)

Postby RepSharpshooter » Thu Jun 26, 2008 8:46 am

I can post in it, thanks a lot! :thumbs: I'll start preparing content for stickies and so on.

@Frisbeetarian quaternions are used by the game engine. I have to take rotation in x, y, z and convert it to w j k i

2nd Lieutenant
User avatar
Posts: 405
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 3:11 pm
Location: Location Location.

Re: Dynamic Map Idea (all lots open for taking)

Postby PsYcH0_]-[aMsT3r » Thu Jun 26, 2008 9:04 am

I think it needs its own forum! Rep can I have maybe F1 or F2?

Jedi
User avatar
Posts: 1105
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2007 6:04 am
Location: Germany
Projects :: Inactive

Re: Dynamic Map Idea (all lots open for taking)

Postby Aman/Pinguin » Thu Jun 26, 2008 9:15 am

Just a note, J4 is my lot. :) Rep didn't add it to the list yet...so I post it ;)

Gametoast Staff
User avatar
Posts: 1353
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 4:10 pm

Re: Dynamic Map Idea (all lots open for taking)

Postby RepSharpshooter » Thu Jun 26, 2008 9:33 am

Ok, acknowledged.

From now on, there's new threads:
  • The Showcase Thread- for posting pictures of your dmi related work.
  • How to Get Started- for requesting lots and information on--you guessed it--how to get started.
  • The DMI Plan- for discussing the logistics and direction of the level. lua code, side composition, etc.


Not sure what to do with this thread then :?

Sith Master
User avatar
Posts: 2786
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2006 3:46 pm

Re: Dynamic Map Idea (all lots open for taking)

Postby Xavious » Thu Jun 26, 2008 9:42 am

Just lock it if you don't need it.

Gametoast Staff
User avatar
Posts: 1353
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 4:10 pm

Re: Dynamic Map Idea (all lots open for taking)

Postby RepSharpshooter » Thu Jun 26, 2008 9:47 am

Well I was still thinking about if this could serve any more purpose before I do that.

hmm...

Nope, I got everything covered with the other topics. Just to leave it on the last post:

  • The Showcase Thread- for posting pictures of your dmi related work.
  • How to Get Started- for requesting lots and information on--you guessed it--how to get started.
  • The DMI Plan- for discussing the logistics and direction of the level. lua code, side composition, etc.

Previous

Return to The Dynamic Project

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest