Tut: How to fix missing sounds without new lvl! (FAQ)

In this forum you will find and post information regarding the modding of Star Wars Battlefront 2. DO NOT POST MOD IDEAS/REQUESTS.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
MandeRek
Sith Master
Sith Master
Posts: 2766
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2007 10:51 am
Projects :: Battlefront Zer0
Games I'm Playing :: SWTOR
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: Ghosting around GT
Contact:

Tut: How to fix missing sounds without new lvl! (FAQ)

Post by MandeRek »

I found this, very simple, but it works as well :)

Let's say you're adding nice new things, or things from another era, and the sounds are missing.. Rends' tut is good, not to hard, but you don't know the sound names, or there is not lvl file after munging etc. etc... Here's the thing:

1. Check what sounds are missing.. In my map, the ATAT sounds are missing
2. Check in what map the ATAT is.. I noticed in hoth conguest, gcw.
3. Go to Lucasarts\Star Wars Battlefront II\Gamedata\data\_lvl_pc\sound , and copy the 3 letter file from the world the sound was in, in this case, hoth, so hot.lvl
4. Place this lvl in the Lucasarts\Star Wars Battlefront II\Gamedata\addon\{yourmap3lettredname}\data\_LVL_PC\sound

Probably the sound folder isn't there yet; create it!

5. I took sounds from Hoth GCW Conguest; go to it's script in BF2_ModTools\assets\scripts, so in the hot folder, and then hot1g_con.lua. Notice the sound line above the team lines, like this:

Code: Select all

    ReadDataFile("sound\\hot.lvl;hot1gcw")  <--------------------------------------
    ReadDataFile("SIDE\\all.lvl",
                             "all_fly_snowspeeder",
                             "all_inf_rifleman_snow
6. Copy that line, paste it into your lua, but then with dc:, like:

Code: Select all

    ReadDataFile("dc:sound\\hot.lvl;hot1gcw")  <---------------notice dc:
    ReadDataFile("sound\\cor.lvl;cor1cw")
    ReadDataFile("dc:SIDE\\man.lvl",
                             "rep_hero_kitfisto",
                             "rep_hero_roroncorobb", 
Save the lua, munge and check! For all my tries, it worked :thumbs:
User avatar
Maveritchell
Jedi Admin
Jedi Admin
Posts: 7366
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 11:03 pm

Re: Tut: How to fix missing sounds without new lvl!

Post by Maveritchell »

You shouldn't want or need to put "dc:" by that readdatafile. Unless you've moved the hot.lvl sound .lvl file into your addon folder, I'm pretty sure that you're just telling it to look for downloadable content that's not there.

Code: Select all

ReadDataFile("sound\\hot.lvl;hot1gcw")
Just use the line like that, and you'll load directly from the stock level.
MandeRek
Sith Master
Sith Master
Posts: 2766
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2007 10:51 am
Projects :: Battlefront Zer0
Games I'm Playing :: SWTOR
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: Ghosting around GT
Contact:

Re: Tut: How to fix missing sounds without new lvl!

Post by MandeRek »

I know man! Only when i did it without dc:, it didn't work for me :?

Might be the buggy map though..
User avatar
Teancum
Jedi Admin
Jedi Admin
Posts: 11079
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2005 11:42 pm
Projects :: No Mod project currently.
Games I'm Playing :: Destiny
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: Indiana

Re: Tut: How to fix missing sounds without new lvl!

Post by Teancum »

Yep, so long as a second sound lvl doesn't overwrite existing sounds you can use em.
FragMe!
Gametoast Staff
Gametoast Staff
Posts: 2244
Joined: Sat May 13, 2006 12:34 am
Projects :: Not sure keep changing my mind.
Games I'm Playing :: F1 and SWBF
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: Origin name GT_FragMe
Contact:

Re: Tut: How to fix missing sounds without new lvl!

Post by FragMe! »

MandeRek wrote:I know man! Only when i did it without dc:, it didn't work for me :?

Might be the buggy map though..
I have had similar experience when doing Sewers you would get some sounds back but lose others by putting in two ReadDataFile statements for sound without the dc:, never tried it the way you mentioned and maybe I will and see if that works.

As an addendum to this and to deal the most common weapon sound problem for heros, the only level (that I'm aware of) that has all the hero sounds is the TAT.lvl sound file used for Mos Eislely.
wazmol
High General
High General
Posts: 892
Joined: Sat Sep 02, 2006 6:47 pm
Projects :: Thinking...
Games I'm Playing :: Black Ops
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Tut: How to fix missing sounds without new lvl!

Post by wazmol »

It does actually get rid of some of the other sounds, like normal fireing of a rifle is making no sound now...
MandeRek
Sith Master
Sith Master
Posts: 2766
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2007 10:51 am
Projects :: Battlefront Zer0
Games I'm Playing :: SWTOR
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: Ghosting around GT
Contact:

Re: Tut: How to fix missing sounds without new lvl!

Post by MandeRek »

The game can only load one sound file from stock i think; that why rends' tut is there as well, to add missing sounds with a new dc:-.lvl file! This is basicly that, only you use an assets one with all sounds from there!

For heroes; there are no missing hero sounds possible i believe, in standard modding maps.. Normally sounds start missing when changing an era, or adding something that sound.lvl's world didn't include..

Hope this tut is usefull though, i know it worked for 4 people now!
Commander_Fett
High General
High General
Posts: 847
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 9:59 pm
Projects :: No Mod project currently.

Re: Tut: How to fix missing sounds without new lvl! (FAQ)

Post by Commander_Fett »

Well, I can't seem to get this to work for me. I had the sounds working fine, with the geo music, but the flyers had no sound, so I copied spa.lvl from the stock music lvl files to my own map's sound folders, and set up the ReadDataFile section like so:

Code: Select all

	
    ReadDataFile("sound\\geo.lvl;geo1cw")
ReadDataFile("dc:sound\\spa.lvl;spa2cw")
but the space sounds didn't show up. I did it like this:

Code: Select all

ReadDataFile("dc:sound\\spa.lvl;spa2cw")
    ReadDataFile("sound\\geo.lvl;geo1cw")
and it reads the space sounds, but not the geo ones. Am I doing something wrong?
Kai
Recruit Womprat Killer
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2007 5:49 pm

Re: Tut: How to fix missing sounds without new lvl! (FAQ)

Post by Kai »

Wow, I did the exact samething as Fett, and yeah, what ever one I put on the top, is the sound file it would load, I tried with and without :dc but I couldn't get anything. Of course, I just quit after zeroeditor stopped loading my map completly. If anyone knows something, Id appreciate it. I could never get space sounds working on the floor so yah.
User avatar
Maveritchell
Jedi Admin
Jedi Admin
Posts: 7366
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 11:03 pm

Re: Tut: How to fix missing sounds without new lvl! (FAQ)

Post by Maveritchell »

Your problem (and the reason that using sounds like this tutorial suggests will inevitably lead to issues) is that you can't load two of the same sounds from two different .lvl files (like Teancum mentioned in the fourth post). If you want to add missing vehicle sounds, you will almost inevitably need to munge a new sound .lvl file yourself - fortunately Rends made a very easy and clear tutorial on this. Follow it, do what it says, and if you do it correctly your sounds will be heard.
Commander_Fett
High General
High General
Posts: 847
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 9:59 pm
Projects :: No Mod project currently.

Re: Tut: How to fix missing sounds without new lvl! (FAQ)

Post by Commander_Fett »

Okay Mav, I'll try that. Somebody uploaded a virus to my comp over xfire or BF2 multiplayer, so I can't right now, though. However, if I may ask, can you read the same thing twice in the .sfx file, or should I look through for extra snippets of repeated code? (I was gonnna try that today, until the virus came up)
User avatar
Maveritchell
Jedi Admin
Jedi Admin
Posts: 7366
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 11:03 pm

Re: Tut: How to fix missing sounds without new lvl! (FAQ)

Post by Maveritchell »

You should always make sure both .sfx files and .snd files are as free of repetition as possible. The .snd files are essentially like a req file, and I believe it truly only matters what's called in that - however, I personally always doublecheck both, because "better safe than sorry." Better than necessary is always good enough.
Raigiku
Private Third Class
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2017 5:14 pm
Projects :: Battlefront Redux
Games I'm Playing :: League of Legends
xbox live or psn: TheRaigiku
Location: Perú

Re: Tut: How to fix missing sounds without new lvl! (FAQ)

Post by Raigiku »

Thank you so much not all heroes wear capes! :D
Post Reply