Crysis Demo!!!!

Discuss all things Crysis, including the new "Day In The Life" Star Wars mod

Moderator: Moderators

Locked

After playing the demo, do you think you will....

Pre-order Crysis?
7
41%
Buy Crysis?
8
47%
Forget about it?
2
12%
 
Total votes: 17
Sniper_eye
Rebel Warrant Officer
Rebel Warrant Officer
Posts: 306
Joined: Sun Apr 02, 2006 6:36 pm
Projects :: No Mod project currently.
Games I'm Playing :: I have not listed any games yet
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: Somewhere I should know
Contact:

Re: Crysis Demo!!!!

Post by Sniper_eye »

That looks great.^ :)
Penguin
Jedi Admin
Jedi Admin
Posts: 2541
Joined: Sun Mar 05, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Australia

Re: Crysis Demo!!!!

Post by Penguin »

Hidden/Spoiler:
Image
Taivyx
2008 Best Games Related Avatar
Posts: 1706
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 3:34 pm
Projects :: Terra Strife - discontinued
Games I'm Playing :: none
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Contact:

Re: Crysis Demo!!!!

Post by Taivyx »

:D
Looks good!

Unfortunately, I can hardly mod Crysis due to the limited specs of my computer.
Bac-Talan
Captain
Captain
Posts: 487
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2005 8:14 pm

Re: Crysis Demo!!!!

Post by Bac-Talan »

WoooooW! looks nice Penguin!

I the editor lags like crazy for me though :x
User avatar
Karnage
Commander Randomtoast
Posts: 947
Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2005 9:17 pm
Projects :: No Mod project currently.
Games I'm Playing :: Overwatch
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: Wherever there is shenanigannery.

Re: Crysis Demo!!!!

Post by Karnage »

You can change the specs to low in the editor. That's what I do. Or you can change it to sketchmode, which completely kills the textures and some other specs so you can run it pretty smooth.

Oh ya! If any of you go to Crymod, there's a thread that shows you how to get amazing high-res screenshots for backgrounds or whatever.

I do this in the editor but you can do it in-game.

You set the screenshot resolution by typing this in the console:
e_screenshot_width=xxx
e_screenshot_height=xxx

And you take the screenshot by typing:
e_screenshot 1

What it does is it takes the screenshot in sections 2 or 3 times to give you a very nice picture without nasty large pixels. And you can take screenshots larger than the resolution of your screen. Just make sure you're taking them in the same aspect ratio of you resolution. Otherwise the screenshot will look skewed.

My resolution is 1280x800 and I took a screenshot with a resolution of 6400x4000.
Penguin
Jedi Admin
Jedi Admin
Posts: 2541
Joined: Sun Mar 05, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Australia

Re: Crysis Demo!!!!

Post by Penguin »

You forgot e_screenshot_quality=xxx (default 30, max 100) and cl_hud 0

Screenshot will only be taken in the spec mode thats currently used. (low, medium, eg)

e_screenshot then press TAB to get more e_screenshot commands
User avatar
Karnage
Commander Randomtoast
Posts: 947
Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2005 9:17 pm
Projects :: No Mod project currently.
Games I'm Playing :: Overwatch
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: Wherever there is shenanigannery.

Re: Crysis Demo!!!!

Post by Karnage »

Oooo! I'll have to change the quality and take another screenshot.

Ya, I wouldn't change the specs to high in-game. The game is more likely to crash if you do that (that is, if you have a low-end graphics card). That's why I take it in the editor.

Thanks for the info Penguin! :thumbs:

-EDIT-
Here's some glamour shots I took yesterday with this method. These are 1280x800 not 6400x4000.
ImageImageImageImage
Bac-Talan
Captain
Captain
Posts: 487
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2005 8:14 pm

Re: Crysis Demo!!!!

Post by Bac-Talan »

Perrrrty!

I like the first one in there. That and the third, just because of the expression on the guys face :P
Penguin
Jedi Admin
Jedi Admin
Posts: 2541
Joined: Sun Mar 05, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Australia

Re: Crysis Demo!!!!

Post by Penguin »

Karnage wrote:Oooo! I'll have to change the quality and take another screenshot.

Ya, I wouldn't change the specs to high in-game. The game is more likely to crash if you do that (that is, if you have a low-end graphics card). That's why I take it in the editor.

Thanks for the info Penguin! :thumbs:

-EDIT-
Here's some glamour shots I took yesterday with this method. These are 1280x800 not 6400x4000.
ImageImageImageImage


lol, I can see solids in the background xD
User avatar
Karnage
Commander Randomtoast
Posts: 947
Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2005 9:17 pm
Projects :: No Mod project currently.
Games I'm Playing :: Overwatch
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: Wherever there is shenanigannery.

Re: Crysis Demo!!!!

Post by Karnage »

Lol, I didn't notice that at first. That's funny. :P
DeathRow
Master Bounty Hunter
Master Bounty Hunter
Posts: 1561
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2006 5:55 am
Projects :: None.
Games I'm Playing :: Life
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: Aussieland.

Re: Crysis Demo!!!!

Post by DeathRow »

Nice pics Karnage.

The mod where you can unlock Vista stuff on XP is really good.
Sniper_eye
Rebel Warrant Officer
Rebel Warrant Officer
Posts: 306
Joined: Sun Apr 02, 2006 6:36 pm
Projects :: No Mod project currently.
Games I'm Playing :: I have not listed any games yet
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: Somewhere I should know
Contact:

Re: Crysis Demo!!!!

Post by Sniper_eye »

This game has probably the EASIEST editor to work with in history. There is a reason to why I over emphasize the EASINESS of this editor. Not only is it easy to spawn new items and create pathways, but you are able to play it before you save it. Probably the most innovative of this game, the Crytek Sandbox Engine. This is truly a game that might be the best game of the year. Although most thoughts I have heard of on this game are negative, yet not in this forum, I still think that this game will define a new line of new games to come out in the future.
User avatar
Karnage
Commander Randomtoast
Posts: 947
Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2005 9:17 pm
Projects :: No Mod project currently.
Games I'm Playing :: Overwatch
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: Wherever there is shenanigannery.

Re: Crysis Demo!!!!

Post by Karnage »

I'm gonna have to agree with Sniper_eye.

Although Zero Editor is pretty easy, I've had tons of problems with it. Not the same with Sandbox 2. Just as easy if not easier than Zero Editor and no problems whatsoever.
Sniper_eye
Rebel Warrant Officer
Rebel Warrant Officer
Posts: 306
Joined: Sun Apr 02, 2006 6:36 pm
Projects :: No Mod project currently.
Games I'm Playing :: I have not listed any games yet
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: Somewhere I should know
Contact:

Re: Crysis Demo!!!!

Post by Sniper_eye »

Karnage wrote:I'm gonna have to agree with Sniper_eye.

Although Zero Editor is pretty easy, I've had tons of problems with it. Not the same with Sandbox 2. Just as easy if not easier than Zero Editor and no problems whatsoever.


Exactly.
Bac-Talan
Captain
Captain
Posts: 487
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2005 8:14 pm

Re: Crysis Demo!!!!

Post by Bac-Talan »

Dang... I'm getting too used to Crysis.
I've played it enough, and I guess I was starting to get a bit bored with the one level that's in it.

But then I downloaded the TimeShift demo, and absolutely positively:

...




HATED IT!

Seriously, it felt like one of those rail-shooter games, you know the ones where you have no choices at all? Just 'shoot the baddies' ?

I promptly uninstalled it.
I then downloaded the Call of Duty 4 demo. Now, I usually like the COD series (despite never actually having owned one of the games, one of my friends does) But I played this, and after Crysis, it seems SOOOO stinkin' linear...

I think I'm spoiled...
Penguin
Jedi Admin
Jedi Admin
Posts: 2541
Joined: Sun Mar 05, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Australia

Re: Crysis Demo!!!!

Post by Penguin »

Ahah! VICTORY IS MINE! [/stewie]

Image

(Crysis download is 6gigs)
User avatar
Karnage
Commander Randomtoast
Posts: 947
Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2005 9:17 pm
Projects :: No Mod project currently.
Games I'm Playing :: Overwatch
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: Wherever there is shenanigannery.

Re: Crysis Demo!!!!

Post by Karnage »

Wait...you're download Crysis from the EA store?

Did they release it this early for pre-orderers?
Penguin
Jedi Admin
Jedi Admin
Posts: 2541
Joined: Sun Mar 05, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Australia

Re: Crysis Demo!!!!

Post by Penguin »

Was set for download release on the 14th but they changed it to the 9th. Were not sure if its a pre-load or pre-release, the Email we were sent didn't say

Dear <SNIP>

Thank you for ordering on Electronic Arts Asia. The date when the product that you Pre-Ordered will be released has been changed.
The product listed below will now be available on 9 November 2007

Order ID: <SNIP>
Product ID: <SNIP>
Product Name: Crysis SE2 (PC Downloadable)

If you have further questions regarding your order, please click on the link below for assistance

http://<SNIP>

Please note: This e-mail message was sent from a notification-only address that cannot accept incoming e-mail. Please do not reply to this message.

Sincerely,

Electronic Arts Asia Customer Service


Then 20 minutes later I was sent this Email

Dear <SNIP> :

Thank you for ordering on Electronic Arts Asia. The product that you pre-ordered is now available.

Order ID: <SNIP>
Product ID: <SNIP>
Product Name: Crysis SE2 (PC Downloadable)
Release Date: 9 November 2007

If you have further questions regarding your order, please click on the link below for assistance
https://<SNIP>

Please note: This e-mail message was sent from a notification-only address that cannot accept incoming e-mail. Please do not reply to this message.

Sincerely,
Electronic Arts Asia Customer Service


PS: 16 hours left lol
Last edited by Penguin on Tue Aug 13, 2019 1:22 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: *Purging old personally identifiable information*
DeathRow
Master Bounty Hunter
Master Bounty Hunter
Posts: 1561
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2006 5:55 am
Projects :: None.
Games I'm Playing :: Life
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: Aussieland.

Re: Crysis Demo!!!!

Post by DeathRow »

[Jealousy Outburst]
Taivyx
2008 Best Games Related Avatar
Posts: 1706
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 3:34 pm
Projects :: Terra Strife - discontinued
Games I'm Playing :: none
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Contact:

Re: Crysis Demo!!!!

Post by Taivyx »

*ahem*

Gaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhh............

You lucky little....!

flygemma wrote:Image


What?? Digital Art Asset Pack? How'd you get that? :|
Locked