MshEx Beta 3

Releasing the source files for your mod or map? Post em' here. (Applies to both SWBF1 & SWBF2)

Moderator: Moderators

Gametoast Staff
User avatar
Posts: 1353
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 4:10 pm

MshEx Beta 3

Postby RepSharpshooter » Mon Aug 11, 2008 9:47 am

Updates for 3: bounding boxes are fixed, rotation added (meaning you can rotate nulls and such).

A new reference pic:
Hidden/Spoiler:
Image

Notice how the "chairs" are separated by clusters. The cluster called Polygon is a group of polygons that use material 03 (the leather seat texture). Polygon1 is a group of polygons that usethe table texture. Under Node Properties, you should only have 1 Texture Coordinate property. (try using sub-projections in the Texture Editor instead of multiple projections). This also shows how the selection has a null as a parent, and is BRANCH selected.




What it does:
  • Visible mesh (textures, uvs, normals, etc)
  • Nulls
  • Hierarchy
  • Rotation
  • Translation

That's it, don't ask for more.


For exporting from XSI with Crosswalk 2.6 or higher only.
Exporting from 3DS Max with Crosswalk doesn't work because of incorrect normal export.

Rules you must follow:
  • Make sure you have Crosswalk 2.6 or higher (Softimage Mod Tool 7.5 already includes this)
  • A polygon has to be in one and only one cluster at a time.
  • Each cluster must have a local copy of a material (the material name will be italicized = BAD, drag the material from the material editor onto the cluster)
  • There has to be one and only one texture projection (can someone say how to collapse a lot of them into one explicit uv map?)
  • There has to be a null as the parent of everything.
  • You cannot use rotation or scale (well you can use them, but remember to freeze transforms before exporting).
  • You can only use a max of 5000-6000 triangles (polys times two). If you go over that, you're pushing your luck. ZE will freeze/lock up.

Instructions:
  1. Put everything you're going to export under a null (not the scene root).
  2. In the scene explorer, middle-mouse click the name of the null.
  3. Go to File, Crosswalk, Export (it should be on 6.0 text when it pops up).
  4. Click the Settings tab.
  5. Select a filename/filepath.
  6. CHECK "EXPORT SELECTION ONLY"
  7. CHECK "CONVERT GEOMETRY TO TRIANGLES" or "CONVERT MESHES TO TRIANGLES"
  8. CHECK "EXPORT XSI NORMALS"
  9. UNCHECK "Keep referenced paths relative"
  10. Press Export.
  11. Run mshex in same directory and convert file to a msh. (and if you're really stupid to put it bluntly, this means put the .xsi file in the same folder as mshex.exe and hedr.msh, then double click on mshex. Then type in the .xsi name such as box.xsi)

There! Now start to export beautiful mesh that looks exactly like pandemic rolled it off their exclusive exporter!

Image
Image

Click here only if you read everything. READ EVERYTHING! It'll be your fault when you fail at using it.
MediaFire

Image

Gametoast Staff
Posts: 3469
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 6:23 am

Re: MshEx Beta 3

Postby AceMastermind » Mon Aug 11, 2008 11:04 am

RepSharpshooter wrote:For XSI Crosswalk 2.6 only. Max's crosswalk doesn't work because of incorrect normal export.

Do your models look like this when you export them from 3ds Max to XSI using Crosswalk?
I don't use 3ds Max so I have no idea what kind of normal issues you're running into, but Crosswalk 3.0 is now available, give it a shot and see if it works any better for ya.

Gametoast Staff
User avatar
Posts: 1353
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 4:10 pm

Re: MshEx Beta 3

Postby RepSharpshooter » Mon Aug 11, 2008 11:53 am

Yeah that would be it, I'll have to try crosswalk 3 and see if it works straight from Max. Another problem is that between max and XSI, the Y and Z axes are switched, causing a lot of problems (perhaps they fixed that in the 3.0 release). But thank you! I shall give it a try.

High General
User avatar
Posts: 895
Joined: Sat Sep 02, 2006 6:47 pm
Location: London
Projects :: Thinking...
Games I'm Playing :: Black Ops

Re: MshEx Beta 3

Postby wazmol » Mon Aug 11, 2008 2:39 pm

Ahhh will crosswalk 3 make bones not transform into very hard to see and understand nulls? (talking player skeletons here.)

Sith Master
User avatar
Posts: 2768
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2007 10:51 am
Location: Ghosting around GT
Projects :: Battlefront Zer0
Games I'm Playing :: SWTOR
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: MshEx Beta 3

Postby MandeRek » Mon Aug 11, 2008 4:01 pm

wazmol wrote:Ahhh will crosswalk 3 make bones not transform into very hard to see and understand nulls? (talking player skeletons here.)


Yes they will, still meshex can't do these playermodels since it needs envelopes ;)

High General
User avatar
Posts: 895
Joined: Sat Sep 02, 2006 6:47 pm
Location: London
Projects :: Thinking...
Games I'm Playing :: Black Ops

Re: MshEx Beta 3

Postby wazmol » Tue Aug 12, 2008 5:31 am

Im on about crosswalk.

Not Meshex

Sith Master
User avatar
Posts: 2768
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2007 10:51 am
Location: Ghosting around GT
Projects :: Battlefront Zer0
Games I'm Playing :: SWTOR
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: MshEx Beta 3

Postby MandeRek » Tue Aug 12, 2008 6:55 am

Yeah so? :P Yeah crosswalk will, but MshEx can't do anything with it.. At least not what's meant with it..

Gametoast Staff
User avatar
Posts: 1353
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 4:10 pm

Re: MshEx Beta 3

Postby RepSharpshooter » Tue Aug 12, 2008 9:19 am

Normals are stilled messed up from max. Crosswalk 3.0 appears to work with xsi still (however, I only tested it once).

Hoth Battle Chief
User avatar
Posts: 3352
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 7:03 pm
Location:
Games I'm Playing :: sticking to rct3
xbox live or psn: fluffytherc

Re: MshEx Beta 3

Postby Fluffy_the_ic » Tue Aug 12, 2008 9:22 am

By one texture projection, does that mean that t must all be (for example) Cubic XY, but the scales can be different? Or no?

Gametoast Staff
Posts: 3469
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 6:23 am

Re: MshEx Beta 3

Postby AceMastermind » Tue Aug 12, 2008 12:37 pm

RepSharpshooter wrote:Normals are stilled messed up from max. Crosswalk 3.0 appears to work with xsi still (however, I only tested it once).

The fix for that was posted in the topic that I linked to earlier:
thiago costa wrote:...what you need to do is open the object and remove that MaxNormal property.
That is the actual normals information that came from 3dsmax which are looking bad, as you can see.
So just open the explorer as I said (8), and under the object>clusters you'll be albe to remove that "MaxNormal" property.

Gametoast Staff
User avatar
Posts: 1353
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 4:10 pm

Re: MshEx Beta 3

Postby RepSharpshooter » Tue Aug 12, 2008 1:41 pm

I've been already doing that. It's no good if you're going straight from max to mshex though.

High General
User avatar
Posts: 895
Joined: Sat Sep 02, 2006 6:47 pm
Location: London
Projects :: Thinking...
Games I'm Playing :: Black Ops

Re: MshEx Beta 3

Postby wazmol » Tue Aug 12, 2008 4:45 pm

MandeRek wrote:Yeah so? :P Yeah crosswalk will, but MshEx can't do anything with it.. At least not what's meant with it..


Jeez... It was just outta interest. Crosswalk comes in very handy for me. Xsi modtools to Xsi Foundations.

Gametoast Staff
User avatar
Posts: 2267
Joined: Sat May 13, 2006 12:34 am
Location: Origin name GT_FragMe
Projects :: Not sure keep changing my mind.
Games I'm Playing :: F1 and SWBF
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: MshEx Beta 3

Postby FragMe! » Tue Aug 12, 2008 10:09 pm

It's okay waz I know what you meant and I was wondering the same thing :D

Private Third Class
User avatar
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2008 5:09 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: MshEx Beta 3

Postby Commander_Poecky » Thu Aug 21, 2008 7:39 am

i ran mshex over an model, but when it says:
Code: Select all
going into loop with vrtnum: 4370
IVRT: 4370

it crashes

Sith
User avatar
Posts: 1361
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2007 10:17 pm
Location: The lost world of pickels

Re: MshEx Beta 3

Postby woner11 » Sat Sep 06, 2008 6:02 pm

Just noticed:
MandeRek wrote:Yes they will, still meshex can't do these playermodels since it needs envelopes


It doesn't do player models! Is there anyway then to get a player model with custom anims into BF2 then without full version XSI?

Sith Master
User avatar
Posts: 2768
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2007 10:51 am
Location: Ghosting around GT
Projects :: Battlefront Zer0
Games I'm Playing :: SWTOR
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: MshEx Beta 3

Postby MandeRek » Sat Sep 06, 2008 6:03 pm

woner11 wrote:Just noticed:
MandeRek wrote:Yes they will, still meshex can't do these playermodels since it needs envelopes


It doesn't do player models! Is there anyway then to get a player model with custom anims into BF2 then without full version XSI?


Only way is to find an exporter.. No other solution!

Private Recruit
User avatar
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2008 5:15 am
Location: Cologne, Germany

Re: MshEx Beta 3

Postby _BR3AK3R_ » Fri Oct 10, 2008 12:21 pm

Does it also work with Crosswalk 3.1? .. I have to try it

User avatar
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2008 12:53 pm

Re: MshEx Beta 3

Postby iko94 » Tue Oct 28, 2008 12:23 pm

Holy crap, Rep, I bet this took you ages. Still, it's what I needed so I love you. :bowdown:

PS What difference does it make whether all the things you are exporting are under the scene root or not? I only just noticed that after I exported a [working] model...

Command Sergeant Major
User avatar
Posts: 289
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2008 5:58 pm
Location: Crifton

Re: MshEx Beta 3

Postby Tourny » Sat Nov 15, 2008 12:20 pm

Um... What if you don't have a middle mouse button?

Gametoast Staff
Posts: 3469
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 6:23 am

Re: MshEx Beta 3

Postby AceMastermind » Sat Nov 15, 2008 12:58 pm

Tourny wrote:What if you don't have a middle mouse button?

If you don't have a middle mouse button (scroll wheel) then just left click on dummyroot and press ctrl+T to branch select.

Next

Return to Released Assets

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests