Blocked 20 countries fyi

Leave us posts on anything related to your views on gametoast.com, improvements, gripes, etc...

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
guru
Jawa Admin
Jawa Admin
Posts: 2377
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2004 8:45 pm
Projects :: swbf 1 vanilla
Games I'm Playing :: any mobile rpg

Blocked 20 countries fyi

Post by guru »

Due to spam and generally unwanted traffic we have blocked many middle eastern and a few other countries, if you know anyone whom is blocked and needs access please have them email guru@gametoast.com and I'll assist in getting them access

Thanks hope all is well


Guru
Darth_Squoobus
General
General
Posts: 760
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 3:21 am
Projects :: No Mod project currently.
Location: over the hills and far away

Re: Blocked 20 countries fyi

Post by Darth_Squoobus »

Russia's blocked too, isn't it?
User avatar
guru
Jawa Admin
Jawa Admin
Posts: 2377
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2004 8:45 pm
Projects :: swbf 1 vanilla
Games I'm Playing :: any mobile rpg

Re: Blocked 20 countries fyi

Post by guru »

Yes Ill post all the countries that are blocked soon essentially Asia or Middle East mostly but any areas that our firewall see repeated scan and hack attempts is getting perma blocked
User avatar
guru
Jawa Admin
Jawa Admin
Posts: 2377
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2004 8:45 pm
Projects :: swbf 1 vanilla
Games I'm Playing :: any mobile rpg

Re: Blocked 20 countries fyi

Post by guru »

here is the country list , if your in these places your likely not seeing this.

AZ,KR,CN,UA,FR,IQ,IR,MX,KE,PH,VN,PK,GE,DZ,IN,JO,TR,YE,NL,TH,UZ,KZ,ID,LY,UG,VE,BR,NG,MN,LB,PS,DO,AL,JP,BA,RS,EC,MY,BD,PE,BY,LA,TW,KG
Deviss
Master of the Force
Master of the Force
Posts: 3772
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2008 7:59 pm
Projects :: Clone Wars Extended
Games I'm Playing :: BF2

Re: Blocked 20 countries fyi

Post by Deviss »

i would like add my ip, because i am blocked (i'm from argentina)
Hajas
Recruit Womprat Killer
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2015 7:28 am
Projects :: Call of Duty Frontlines
Games I'm Playing :: Call of Duty
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brasil
Contact:

Re: Blocked 20 countries fyi

Post by Hajas »

I'm blocked too, I'm from Brazil... but don't you thinks this will not stop the spam? why to create a "smart" field mandatory in the register form? this is easy and simple, worked 100% in all my forums (I have 3)

Just create a field with any smat question, then a bot will not be able to answer... look what I did: http://bc.freeforums.org/ucp.php?mode=r ... 59de327b6b
check the last field (just about the confirmation code), with only that will avoid any bot registering at your forum.

blocking IPs will not end the spam, and will hurt a lot more good people than bad ones... don't you think?

thanks
User avatar
guru
Jawa Admin
Jawa Admin
Posts: 2377
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2004 8:45 pm
Projects :: swbf 1 vanilla
Games I'm Playing :: any mobile rpg

Re: Blocked 20 countries fyi

Post by guru »

There are hundreds of sites worth millions on this server so blocking countries with shady port scans saves us time on hack and Trojan and spam work. I will see about whitelisting your ips just PM me the IPv4
AvalancheMaster
Second Lance Corporal
Second Lance Corporal
Posts: 105
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2013 4:16 am
Projects :: Myrkr Smuggler outpost
Games I'm Playing :: SWBFII Civ WC3
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: Varna, Bulgaria

Re: Blocked 20 countries fyi

Post by AvalancheMaster »

I've sent you a private message here some time ago, but didn't get a reply. Regardless, I want to report Bulgaria is also blocked, and I'm using a US proxy.
User avatar
Anakin
Master of the Force
Master of the Force
Posts: 4776
Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2009 11:37 am
Projects :: RC Side Mod - Remastered - SWBF3 Legacy
Location: Mos Espa (germany)

Re: Blocked 20 countries fyi

Post by Anakin »

Was the same for Germany. Blocked, pm, no replay. But now I can access again.

@guru: I do not know if this would fix the spam and hack attacks, but isn't there a way to prompt users from blocked countries the login directly and let them in if they are registered users. 3 times wrong password direct block the IP.
Teancum
Jedi Admin
Jedi Admin
Posts: 11030
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2005 11:42 pm
Projects :: No Mod project currently.
Games I'm Playing :: Destiny
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: Indiana

Re: Blocked 20 countries fyi

Post by Teancum »

Anakin wrote:Was the same for Germany. Blocked, pm, no replay. But now I can access again.

@guru: I do not know if this would fix the spam and hack attacks, but isn't there a way to prompt users from blocked countries the login directly and let them in if they are registered users. 3 times wrong password direct block the IP.
The block affects all websites hosted on the server, not just Gametoast. That's why it's difficult to whitelist individual people's IP.
User avatar
guru
Jawa Admin
Jawa Admin
Posts: 2377
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2004 8:45 pm
Projects :: swbf 1 vanilla
Games I'm Playing :: any mobile rpg

Re: Blocked 20 countries fyi

Post by guru »

I have allowed all Russia Germany NL and GB access as of now if your still blocked it's likely your ip falls into a "ban by country code" and due to our hosting policy enough bad traffic comes to warrant keeping a block
AvalancheMaster
Second Lance Corporal
Second Lance Corporal
Posts: 105
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2013 4:16 am
Projects :: Myrkr Smuggler outpost
Games I'm Playing :: SWBFII Civ WC3
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: Varna, Bulgaria

Re: Blocked 20 countries fyi

Post by AvalancheMaster »

Well, is there a fix for individuals in Bulgaria, or will I have to login from a proxy?
DarthDio
Private Third Class
Posts: 59
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2015 2:03 pm
Projects :: 2D Artist for Battlefront III Legacy
Games I'm Playing :: StarWars Battlefront
xbox live or psn: none
Location: Athens , Greece

Re: Blocked 20 countries fyi

Post by DarthDio »

Greece doesn't seem to be there but I've been blocked since forever , please whitelist me , I don't wanna use a proxy everytime I visit this website. Thanks.
User avatar
guru
Jawa Admin
Jawa Admin
Posts: 2377
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2004 8:45 pm
Projects :: swbf 1 vanilla
Games I'm Playing :: any mobile rpg

Re: Blocked 20 countries fyi

Post by guru »

Is Greece ge? What is country code for Greece I can open that up
TheMastermindOfMaom
Private First Class
Posts: 314
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 1:48 pm
Projects :: None.
xbox live or psn: #PCMasterRace
Location: Greece

Re: Blocked 20 countries fyi

Post by TheMastermindOfMaom »

GR.
giftheck
Droid Pilot Assassin
Droid Pilot Assassin
Posts: 2162
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 5:58 pm
Projects :: Star Wars Battlefront Legacy

Re: Blocked 20 countries fyi

Post by giftheck »

guru wrote:Is Greece ge? What is country code for Greece I can open that up
Quick search: I believe ge is for Georgia.
User avatar
Anakin
Master of the Force
Master of the Force
Posts: 4776
Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2009 11:37 am
Projects :: RC Side Mod - Remastered - SWBF3 Legacy
Location: Mos Espa (germany)

Re: Blocked 20 countries fyi

Post by Anakin »

Germany is blocked again!! why??
thelegend
Sith
Sith
Posts: 1433
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2014 6:01 am
Projects :: Star Wars - Battlefront III Legacy
Games I'm Playing :: Swbf GTA CoD LoL KH
xbox live or psn: El_Fabricio#
Location: Right behind you :)

Re: Blocked 20 countries fyi

Post by thelegend »

Anakin wrote:Germany is blocked again!! why??
I thought it was only me. The only way to write here now is to use a proxy.
User avatar
Anakin
Master of the Force
Master of the Force
Posts: 4776
Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2009 11:37 am
Projects :: RC Side Mod - Remastered - SWBF3 Legacy
Location: Mos Espa (germany)

Re: Blocked 20 countries fyi

Post by Anakin »

yes but I don't know why Germany is first not blocked, than blocked, unblocked and blocked again.

==EDIT==

i needed to switch my proxy, since zend2.com cannot access anymore.

Please fix the german block bug. I really hate this proxy work around
Deviss
Master of the Force
Master of the Force
Posts: 3772
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2008 7:59 pm
Projects :: Clone Wars Extended
Games I'm Playing :: BF2

Re: Blocked 20 countries fyi

Post by Deviss »

Anakin wrote:yes but I don't know why Germany is first not blocked, than blocked, unblocked and blocked again.

==EDIT==

i needed to switch my proxy, since zend2.com cannot access anymore.

Please fix the german block bug. I really hate this proxy work around
me still blocked, argentina :S, i suggest VPNBOOK :) i am using it
Post Reply