[ZE] Textures not showing up in the prop

How to create models in XSI and other 3D applications and make them work in Battlefront 1 & 2. Post models, tips for application usage and share anything XSI, 3DMax, SketchUp, etc.

Moderator: Moderators

Recruit Womprat Killer
User avatar
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri May 24, 2019 1:54 pm
Projects :: Battle of Dantooine [2003 Clone Wars].
Games I'm Playing :: SWBFII-TF2-OW
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

[ZE] Textures not showing up in the prop

Postby Lopeta » Sat Jun 08, 2019 4:23 pm

Hiya,
As aforementioned in the title, this custom prop textures appear properly in XSI (1), but after exporting the .msh and .tga to the MSH folder and creating an .odf to its respective ODF folder (2) (any_fly_seismic .msh .tga .odf), the final object in ZeroEditor is completely grey (3). I've gone through the same process with slight changes a bunch of times, and it keeps happening over and over: I import Warb_Null's .obj for a seismic tank (Import as Objects, Null as Parent), add a _lowrez and collision from the merged polymeshes to the dummyroot, apply the textures (.dds provided by him, then converted and edited to a single .tga (4) by myself) for Light, Shadow_Hull and Shadow_Plunger, etc.

What might I be doing wrong?

(1) https://imgur.com/a/JHLZYH8
(2) https://imgur.com/a/I2UUKRR
(3) https://imgur.com/a/h6T21rV
(4) https://imgur.com/a/zs9P62Z

Modeling Master
Posts: 676
Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2006 11:02 pm
Location: alberta, canada
Projects :: Scarif Map Pack and Starter Kit

Re: [ZE] Textures not showing up in the prop

Postby Gogie » Sat Jun 15, 2019 2:06 am

Hello, a few things to try as go tos with the error
1) expand each model, if you see vertex lighting, vertex colors delete those properties.

2) expand each models polymsh in the explorer look for a tab called clusters. From there look for your polymshs tabs (or texture coordinates depending on models properties) if you see something called "tangent" or "somethingshere_import_normals" delete these and see if this helps.

3) if you are using a texture projection which is not from xsi try clicking on your material. next to where it says diffuse click the little red square, this will open up your image clips properties window. from there where it says texture projection try to manually select you texture projection and reexport.

90% of textures ive seen not show up on imports come from one of those 3 issues.

Recruit Womprat Killer
User avatar
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri May 24, 2019 1:54 pm
Projects :: Battle of Dantooine [2003 Clone Wars].
Games I'm Playing :: SWBFII-TF2-OW
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: [ZE] Textures not showing up in the prop

Postby Lopeta » Tue Jun 18, 2019 4:55 pm

Well, after several days trying your suggestions, it didn't work, thanks for the help anyways ^^

Sith
User avatar
Posts: 1449
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2014 6:01 am
Location: Right behind you :)
Projects :: Star Wars - Battlefront III Legacy
Games I'm Playing :: Swbf GTA CoD LoL KH
xbox live or psn: El_Fabricio#

Re: [ZE] Textures not showing up in the prop

Postby thelegend » Sun Jun 30, 2019 10:40 am

Make sure each .tga texture is referenced into your msh folder instead of the source folder (e.g. Texture1, Texture2....are located in C:/Desktop/FlyingStomper. This is what xsi thinks. Also wheen opening the .msh file in hex editor the file path might also go to the said location. You need to manually open the image in xsi (double click the image in Exloper>Images) and repath the texture where your msh folder is located. Export it again and it should refer too the right one.

Return to 3D Modeling & Animation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest