Model Texture Question - Override Texture

How to create models in XSI and other 3D applications and make them work in Battlefront 1 & 2. Post models, tips for application usage and share anything XSI, 3DMax, SketchUp, etc.

Moderator: Moderators

Rebel Sergeant
User avatar
Posts: 216
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2008 7:02 pm
Location: Mexico City

Model Texture Question - Override Texture

Postby vampire_lord » Fri Dec 26, 2008 9:00 am

I don't know if this has been asked before (searched but no results apparently), when and how do I make the models "compatible" with OverrideTexture property? that would sabe a lot of work and space whenever I or any other model wants to resking without HexEditing, is it in XSI or MeshEx/PandemicTool only?

Thanks.

Gametoast Staff
User avatar
Posts: 3294
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 6:23 am

Make your new unit capable of using OverrideTexture property

Postby AceMastermind » Fri Dec 26, 2008 5:50 pm

The character geometry in XSI is named override_texture before exporting.
Image

You need a msh.option file with -keepmaterial override_texture to tell VM to keep the material from being merged with the geometry.

Code: Select all
-keepmaterial override_texture


This allows you to use the OverrideTexture property in the unit's ODF.
Example:
Code: Select all
OverrideTexture     = "rep_inf_sharpshooter"  //texture name without tga appended

Rebel Sergeant
User avatar
Posts: 216
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2008 7:02 pm
Location: Mexico City

Re: Model Texture Question - Override Texture

Postby vampire_lord » Fri Dec 26, 2008 9:13 pm

Thanks, this would need to be a FAQ if not already... SOLVED!

Return to 3D Modeling & Animation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests