Texture animations from XSI to SWBF?

How to create models in XSI and other 3D applications and make them work in Battlefront 1 & 2. Post models, tips for application usage and share anything XSI, 3DMax, SketchUp, etc.

Moderator: Moderators

Sith
User avatar
Posts: 1278
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 6:34 pm
Location: Germany

Texture animations from XSI to SWBF?

Postby Rends » Sun Jul 31, 2005 8:09 pm

I just found out how texture animations work in XSI .
The texture simply scrolls over a polygon using the uv properties and adding keys in the timleine. I guess this was the also the way to animate the healthdroid texture or the monitors of the hoth_prop_command consoles.
What i need to know how to export the object so the texture animation will also show up in the game?
Or is it made different? If so how?



Tutorial for scrolling textures:
1. Select some polygons
2. Go to File > Pandemic Tools > Edit Flags
3. Select Render Type 3
4. Set the scroll speed:
  • Data0 = U (Horizontal scroll speed)
  • Data1 = V (Vertical scroll speed)
5. Close Edit Flags and export when ready!

Old School Staff
User avatar
Posts: 1232
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 4:54 am
Location: Heartland, Texas

RE: texture animations from XSI to SWBF?

Postby ShadowHawk » Sun Jul 31, 2005 10:35 pm

Ahhh the possibilities of this knowledge. Computer displays, security screens, even simple trigger animatons.

Old School Staff
User avatar
Posts: 2059
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2005 9:54 am

RE: texture animations from XSI to SWBF?

Postby Qdin » Tue Aug 02, 2005 6:25 am

Rends

if you animate in XSI, you export the model(s) into a .msh file

if you dont animate, the model doesnt move - so just animate and export

but remember: you maybe have to create multiple animations

hope this helps :P

Sith
User avatar
Posts: 1278
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 6:34 pm
Location: Germany

RE: texture animations from XSI to SWBF?

Postby Rends » Tue Aug 02, 2005 7:42 am

Qdin, gimme a point by point instructions about what you are talking about and i will do that.

what i have done is follwing: Add a key point at Frame 1 with texture UV set to o. Next add a keypoint at Frame10 with Texture UV set to 0.5 and last add a key point at Frame 20 with UV set to 1. then i set the timeline to 20. If i hit play then the texture movies over the object.

Old School Staff
User avatar
Posts: 2059
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2005 9:54 am

RE: texture animations from XSI to SWBF?

Postby Qdin » Tue Aug 02, 2005 8:06 am

ok

then export the model into .msh

It should then also have the animated texture in the .msh file :wink:

Sith
User avatar
Posts: 1278
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 6:34 pm
Location: Germany

RE: texture animations from XSI to SWBF?

Postby Rends » Tue Aug 02, 2005 10:03 am

well that´s the problem. there is no animation ingame (or in zeroeditor)

Emperor's Hand
User avatar
Posts: 488
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2004 12:11 pm

RE: texture animations from XSI to SWBF?

Postby Saturn_V » Tue Aug 02, 2005 10:23 am

Qdin, have you actually tested this and got it working in-game ? If not, make it clear that you haven't tested it.

Old School Staff
User avatar
Posts: 2059
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2005 9:54 am

RE: texture animations from XSI to SWBF?

Postby Qdin » Tue Aug 02, 2005 11:15 am

Rends, I havent understood what you've done

can you repeat it with a little more ... explaining way?

is the Texture Animation a videoclip, or a texture you're 'moving' over the object? like a shadow?

Sith
User avatar
Posts: 1278
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 6:34 pm
Location: Germany

RE: texture animations from XSI to SWBF?

Postby Rends » Tue Aug 02, 2005 2:10 pm

qdin, second one is correct. It´s only the UV coordinates wich change during the 20 frames wich results in a moving texture over an object.
It´s not a videoclip or something like this. It´s only a single tga texture.

Emperor's Hand
User avatar
Posts: 488
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2004 12:11 pm

RE: texture animations from XSI to SWBF?

Postby Saturn_V » Tue Aug 02, 2005 4:25 pm

So far, animating the uv co-ordinates hasn't carried through to the msh for the test object I used. But there's still lots I don't understand about the animated objects.

You can use the edit flags script (the one used to set transparent polygons), that has lots of options and I have had success with it making scrolling textures ( the textures in the shipped maps that I've examined look as if they have been done this way, though there are a couple I'm not sure about).

I started to document the ones that worked and ones that didn't (I think a lot of them may be for Xbox/PS2 purposes) but got bored after spending a whole day of my vacation working on it, and I abandoned it. If someone wants to make a list of all the objects with animated textures in the shipped game, I might be persuaded to look at it again.

(LowQuality) Video showing animated textures on a cube: http://www.gametoast.com/~gt1/animtest4_texture.rar

Lord-Bandu

RE: texture animations from XSI to SWBF?

Postby Lord-Bandu » Tue Aug 02, 2005 5:37 pm

did 'glow' work? i tried it but i dont know whter its a very subtle effect or whether it just doesnt work . i couldnt see it tbh

Sith
User avatar
Posts: 1278
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 6:34 pm
Location: Germany

RE: texture animations from XSI to SWBF?

Postby Rends » Tue Aug 02, 2005 5:47 pm

thx much Saturn!
If all would be that easy.
Now i got it working,yeah :-)

Lord-Bandu

RE: texture animations from XSI to SWBF?

Postby Lord-Bandu » Sun Sep 04, 2005 3:17 pm

when doing scrolling textures where do you set the speed? i chose render scrolling but i dont see anywhere where i can change the speed? therefore when i tested there was no scrolling

also iv looked at how kamino is set up (using the wall hack in the facility :) ) and it looks as tho there is a poly which is very white (could this be glow? ) wraped around the edge ,so this poly is seen thro the hoes in the wall.

im not having any luck with any of the render types ....is there something extra you have to do or something?

Sith
User avatar
Posts: 1278
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 6:34 pm
Location: Germany

RE: texture animations from XSI to SWBF?

Postby Rends » Sun Sep 04, 2005 3:20 pm

Bandu,
there are 2 sliders you should use if you want scrolling textures. The first is for horizon and the second for vertical scrolling.

Lord-Bandu

RE: texture animations from XSI to SWBF?

Postby Lord-Bandu » Sun Sep 04, 2005 3:37 pm

i dont see any sliders anywhere in the edit flags menu

Sith
User avatar
Posts: 1278
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 6:34 pm
Location: Germany

RE: texture animations from XSI to SWBF?

Postby Rends » Sun Sep 04, 2005 4:39 pm

hm, curios but they should be there

Lord-Bandu

RE: texture animations from XSI to SWBF?

Postby Lord-Bandu » Sun Sep 04, 2005 6:12 pm

heres a pic ....
Hidden/Spoiler:
Image


is it something to do with the data bars?



Also do you know how to get the render glow working? im pretty sure that this is what is used in the kamino map .... it could well be usefull in your coruscant streets map

Hidden/Spoiler:
Image

Sith
User avatar
Posts: 1278
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 6:34 pm
Location: Germany

RE: texture animations from XSI to SWBF?

Postby Rends » Mon Sep 05, 2005 6:53 am

yes play around with the data bars. The upper one is for horizon scrolling and the lower for vertical.

To make polygons glowing flag it render glow and add a hardpoint to the model. Now you need an light odf (hothlight for example) and add following lines to your object odf file:
AttachOdf = "hothlight"
AttachToHardPoint = "hp_light_a1"
AttachToHardPoint = "hp_light_a2"

This example use 2 lights (it´s from Palpatines office )

And yes i will use some lights on my new map .

Lord-Bandu

RE: texture animations from XSI to SWBF?

Postby Lord-Bandu » Mon Sep 05, 2005 1:28 pm

does the polygona have to be transparant aswell(single/double)? therefore the texture being 32 bit?


more importantly using a light seems to make everything else light up aswell. Is this definatley the correct way? cos if you play on kamino and use the wall /ammo droid bug to get inside the wall you can see that there is a bunch of faces/polys put around the edge so that whereever there is a hole in the wall the 'glowing' poly is seen (this makes the glow any shape you like whithout using lighting (i think).

I got the scrolling to work :) thanks

Return to 3D Modeling & Animation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests