Reduce polys, the tool isn't that great [Solved]

How to create models in XSI and other 3D applications and make them work in Battlefront 1 & 2. Post models, tips for application usage and share anything XSI, 3DMax, SketchUp, etc.

Moderator: Moderators

High General
User avatar
Posts: 895
Joined: Sat Sep 02, 2006 6:47 pm
Location: London
Projects :: Thinking...
Games I'm Playing :: Black Ops

Reduce polys, the tool isn't that great [Solved]

Postby wazmol » Sat Dec 15, 2007 11:14 am

hey everyone, i have got permission to use a model that i have downloaded and i would like to reduce the polys, i know about the tool under model>modify>poly.mesh>filter polygons, and thats what i have used before but this time it isnt working as great and only removing silly amounts of polys, i can tell that there a hundreds of polys in this model that can be gotten rid off but, it jus isnt reducing, for example if i was to make a cube that had say 600 polys rather than 6 you could run the filter polys tool and it would reduce, well its basicly the same here.

thanks in advance

General
User avatar
Posts: 791
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 3:23 pm

Re: reduce polys, the tool isnt that great

Postby t551 » Sat Dec 15, 2007 11:42 pm

Yeah, the reduce polygon tool doesn't work that well. You may end up having to do it manually; realistically, you'll probably always have to do that for a complex model.

High General
User avatar
Posts: 895
Joined: Sat Sep 02, 2006 6:47 pm
Location: London
Projects :: Thinking...
Games I'm Playing :: Black Ops

Re: reduce polys, the tool isnt that great

Postby wazmol » Sun Dec 16, 2007 8:57 am

Thanks for the answer.

However, how would i go about doing it manually? i can't seem to do it very well at all, what do you do to reduce your polys?

thanks in advance

Gametoast Staff
User avatar
Posts: 1353
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 4:10 pm

Re: reduce polys, the tool isnt that great

Postby RepSharpshooter » Sun Dec 16, 2007 9:30 am

Gmax's optimize modifier seems to work pretty well.

But anyway, the way I'd speculate on how to do it manually would be to weld verticies together and get rid of the faces.

Gametoast Staff
User avatar
Posts: 2267
Joined: Sat May 13, 2006 12:34 am
Location: Origin name GT_FragMe
Projects :: Not sure keep changing my mind.
Games I'm Playing :: F1 and SWBF
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: reduce polys, the tool isnt that great

Postby FragMe! » Sun Dec 16, 2007 1:43 pm

On the filter poly tool there is a slider in the pop up window (incident angle normally sits at 0) if you slide that it will broadend the range it looks for to reduce polies. Watch the model as you do so as after a certain point it will start to deform the model a bit.
You could also try the filter edges and points tool too, once again using the slider.

High General
User avatar
Posts: 895
Joined: Sat Sep 02, 2006 6:47 pm
Location: London
Projects :: Thinking...
Games I'm Playing :: Black Ops

Re: reduce polys, the tool isnt that great

Postby wazmol » Sun Dec 16, 2007 5:20 pm

hmmm thats very weird, because as of late, my xsi hasn't been working very well at all.

when i select something now that should bring up a pop up window, there is no window, even for polygon merge, which is really annoying as i need to merge UVS, i am very annoyed at this at the moment, can someone tell me whats wrong or should i just re-install xsi. BTW i am running XSI foundation 5.11 and it has always been fine.

Gametoast Staff
User avatar
Posts: 2267
Joined: Sat May 13, 2006 12:34 am
Location: Origin name GT_FragMe
Projects :: Not sure keep changing my mind.
Games I'm Playing :: F1 and SWBF
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: reduce polys, the tool isnt that great

Postby FragMe! » Sun Dec 16, 2007 8:53 pm

As they say there is an answer for everything
Under File tab choose Preferences, then interaction and recheck PopupProperties box. XSI also has a nasty habit of setting Undo back to zero I think that can be found under the general tab.
Picture for reference. Even though the screen is ove modtool 6 it is the same for 5.0

Image

High General
User avatar
Posts: 895
Joined: Sat Sep 02, 2006 6:47 pm
Location: London
Projects :: Thinking...
Games I'm Playing :: Black Ops

Re: reduce polys, the tool isnt that great

Postby wazmol » Mon Dec 17, 2007 5:50 pm

it worked, thanks a lot fragme!

you da man!

Return to 3D Modeling & Animation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests