UnOfficial v1.3 Patch (r129 - Latest Version)

New maps and mods are coming out quickly. If you release something (even a beta) please post it here. Be sure to give details in the topic such as Map/Mod name and version

Moderator: Moderators

Recruit Womprat Killer
User avatar
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2009 12:57 pm

Re: UnOfficial v1.3 Patch (r117 - Final Release)

Postby ask_to_u » Mon Apr 27, 2009 8:24 am

yes, but what do they mean with "Extract the files in 'SWBF2 v1.3patch.exe' to the folder "<game dir>\addon\AAA-v1.3patch" (you will need to manually create that folder). "<game dir>" represents the folder where you installed SWBF2."
were should I create this and what shall i have installed before ???? :cpu: :cpu:
My situation is: after some hours of changing GameData etc, I recycled the GameData , so i had no Gamedata. Than I installed the conversionpack, his Gamedata I use now for my new gamedata (because i haven't the original anymore), so in the convopack is also an unofficial v1.3 patch r83, now in the readme from the v1.3patch it say's "deinstall all previous patches v1.3", ok, I clicked on the "menu", but ther it only say's "have a nice day", without deinstalling -.- Now,
1.shall I recycle this old version??
2.where shall I create the game_dir
3.when I want to install an swbf2 KotoR Galactical Civil War mod (I don't know if you have it too), which Gamedata shall I use <1> the gamedata from the convopack, <2> the gamedata from the kotor mod, or <3> the gamedata from my brother (who has the original) :faint: :faint:
ok, it say's that i must have v1.1, that I have installed jet, ok, I have vista :( ..... ok I think thats all, so could someone help me it is so crazy :runaway: :runaway:

Do not use over 3 smilies ~Staff

Jedi
User avatar
Posts: 1233
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 3:13 pm

Re: UnOfficial v1.3 Patch (r117 - Final Release)

Postby Frisbeetarian » Mon Apr 27, 2009 8:34 am

You can calm down, the sky is not falling, and it's pretty clear how to install this and we can help you.

First of all, I sure hope you didn't delete the GameData folder, because if you did, you need to reinstall SWBF2. Please confirm that this is not the case.

Recruit Womprat Killer
User avatar
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2009 12:57 pm

Re: UnOfficial v1.3 Patch (r117 - Final Release)

Postby ask_to_u » Mon Apr 27, 2009 8:37 am

ok i don't know which of these GameDatas in my bin is the right one, but i have now the GameData from my brother, and thats the right one, he has the same version etc. like me

Jedi High Council
User avatar
Posts: 2306
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2008 1:57 pm
Projects :: I should probably start one...
Games I'm Playing :: TOR AC
xbox live or psn: ShadowScorch88

Re: UnOfficial v1.3 Patch (r117 - Final Release)

Postby Twilight_Warrior » Mon Apr 27, 2009 6:16 pm

Hokay, so here's your GameData folder:
<GameData>
All the original files should still be in there, as the patch will only update or create new files.
So you have the convopack 2.0, which comes with the old v1.3. Make wure you run the menu.bat as your computer's administrator, otherwise Vista's "amazing" security system will get in your way. From here, uninstall the old v1.3 patch.

Now, assuming you have the convopack, you should have an addon folder INSIDE the GameData folder. In this addon folder, create the AAA-v1.3patch folder. So now you have a brand-spankin' new folder ready for data...
Extract the proper files to the AAA-v1.3patch. When it's done, run the menu.bat and your game is now UnOfficially patched.

Recruit Womprat Killer
User avatar
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2009 12:57 pm

Re: UnOfficial v1.3 Patch (r117 - Final Release)

Postby ask_to_u » Tue Apr 28, 2009 7:02 am

so, if i understood well, i should have the normal/original Gamedata, than i should overwrite it with convopack, than i must uninstall v1.3 r83 and after that i create an AAA-v1.3patch folder inside my addon folder, and in the folder i should create a data-folder, and in this datafolder i should copy all the stuff from the installer of the patch v1.3 r117. is that right ??

Recruit Womprat Killer
User avatar
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2009 12:57 pm

Re: UnOfficial v1.3 Patch (r117 - Final Release)

Postby ask_to_u » Tue Apr 28, 2009 7:04 am

sorry for doubleposting, but is the gamedata from the convopack "the same" :quotes: as the original, i know it is not realy the original but can i play ONLY with the original+convopack or can i play it with only convopack ??

Master Sergeant
User avatar
Posts: 174
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 7:55 am
Location: If the words above my head says, "offline", than I'm not here.

Re: UnOfficial v1.3 Patch (r117 - Final Release)

Postby Faceman2000 » Tue Apr 28, 2009 7:26 am

Listen, you don't touch the original Gamedata at all. You let the Conversion Pack's Gamedata merge with the original, same with all maps and mods. You won't replace anything.

Recruit Womprat Killer
User avatar
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2009 12:57 pm

Re: UnOfficial v1.3 Patch (r117 - Final Release)

Postby ask_to_u » Tue Apr 28, 2009 7:47 am

and how shall i do this, not overwriting but i shall merge them ?? i would make it like this : i install the convopack on my desktop, than i copy it and go to my original and than i make paste, or how shall i do it??

Space Ranger
User avatar
Posts: 2559
Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2008 1:50 pm
Location: Washington, US
Projects :: Life. Work.
Games I'm Playing :: League of Legends
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: UnOfficial v1.3 Patch (r117 - Final Release)

Postby RogueKnight » Tue Apr 28, 2009 8:43 am

Why not just let the installer do its thing?

Recruit Womprat Killer
User avatar
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2009 12:57 pm

Re: UnOfficial v1.3 Patch (r117 - Final Release)

Postby ask_to_u » Tue Apr 28, 2009 9:13 am

because the installer works not realy good, when he installs it in battlefront II, i have the gamedata original and the gamedata from convopack -.- so, "how shall i do this, not overwriting but i shall merge them ??"

Jedi Admin
User avatar
Posts: 11077
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2005 11:42 pm
Location: Indiana
Projects :: No Mod project currently.
Games I'm Playing :: Destiny
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: UnOfficial v1.3 Patch (r117 - Final Release)

Postby Teancum » Tue Apr 28, 2009 10:50 am

When you installed you did not check the install path. If you browse to /Star Wars Battlefront II/ the installer will automatically put in the /Gamedata (look at the install path at the top during install), as lots of users don't remember to do that. So when you installed to /Star Wars Battlefront II/Gamedata it installed to /Star Wars Battlefront II/Gamedata/Gamedata

Recruit Womprat Killer
User avatar
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2009 12:57 pm

Re: UnOfficial v1.3 Patch (r117 - Final Release)

Postby ask_to_u » Tue Apr 28, 2009 11:50 am

so we have talked about themes which are not realy needly for me ^^
create the AAA-v1.3patch folder. So now you have a brand-spankin' new folder ready for data...

1. where shall the data be ?? in battlefront2/gamedata/addon/AAA-v1.3patch ???
2. my "amazing" Vista wants not that i uninstall patch v1.3 r83, everytime it say's :
Checking Windows XP
Checking Windows Vista 32bit
Checking Windows Vista 64bit
The given registration key or value was not found
You should have two registry key errors above this line. You can safly ignore t
hem.
WARNING - Safty check failed:
"BattlefrontII.exe=BattlefrontII.exe" does not exist
Halting to prevent possible folder damage
press a key
Have a nice day and enjoy.

3. and an old question; whats game dir and where shall i create it ??

Jedi
User avatar
Posts: 1233
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 3:13 pm

Re: UnOfficial v1.3 Patch (r117 - Final Release)

Postby Frisbeetarian » Tue Apr 28, 2009 12:17 pm

The problem is that you've been messing around with the GameData folder when you didn't need to, and now something is messed up.

What I'd suggest is that you uninstall Battlefront 2, reinstall it, and then follow the instructions Tean stated a couple posts up, then everything should work fine.

Recruit Womprat Killer
User avatar
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2009 12:57 pm

Re: UnOfficial v1.3 Patch (r117 - Final Release)

Postby ask_to_u » Tue Apr 28, 2009 12:46 pm

yes but what use me the instructions when i don't understand them in each detail :o :?

Jedi Admin
User avatar
Posts: 7421
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 11:03 pm

Re: UnOfficial v1.3 Patch (r117 - Final Release)

Postby Maveritchell » Tue Apr 28, 2009 1:05 pm

ask_to_u wrote:yes but what use me the instructions when i don't understand them in each detail :o :?

Three easy instructions:
1) Uninstall SWBF2; re-install SWBF2 (make sure this is a clean copy)
2) Install the Conversion Pack (do not worry about the 1.3 auto-installer), just make sure that the Conversion Pack's GameData is allowed to overwrite (it does not really overwrite anything that would cause errors in the game).
3) Install the Conversion Pack's 2.2 Patch (install the same way as the original Conversion Pack - allow this GameData to overwrite).

Do not have more than one GameData folder.

----

On an unrelated note - to anyone else - note that when I put together the Conversion Pack 2.2 Patch (or Dark Times) I included a preinstalled version of the lite 1.3 patch to avoid any installation confusion. If this issue pops up, just recommend someone to install the 2.2 Patch.

Recruit Womprat Killer
User avatar
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2009 12:57 pm

Re: UnOfficial v1.3 Patch (r117 - Final Release)

Postby ask_to_u » Wed Apr 29, 2009 5:55 am

ok, but the patch 1.3 r83 is deinstalled when i install convopack 2.2 ??

Jedi
User avatar
Posts: 1233
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 3:13 pm

Re: UnOfficial v1.3 Patch (r117 - Final Release)

Postby Frisbeetarian » Wed Apr 29, 2009 7:31 am

Correct

Recruit Womprat Killer
User avatar
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2009 12:57 pm

Re: UnOfficial v1.3 Patch (r117 - Final Release)

Postby ask_to_u » Wed Apr 29, 2009 8:28 am

ok thats good, thanks @ all :thumbs:

Gametoast Staff
User avatar
Posts: 2973
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 7:36 am
Location: USA
Projects :: Bos Wars AI - a RTS game
Games I'm Playing :: SWBF2 and Bos Wars
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: UnOfficial v1.3 Patch (r117 - Final Release)

Postby [RDH]Zerted » Thu Jul 30, 2009 8:32 pm

Thanks to this topic, I found a bug in the unit class detection code. Units added as a hero class aren't tracked, thus any FakeConsole commands dealing with unit classes won't work on them (any command using SetClassProperty()). Depending on your map, this could be a feature or a bug.

The two instances where this bug shows up:
Code: Select all
AddHeroClass("rep_hero_cloakedanakin")
and
Code: Select all
SetupTeams{
    rep = {
        team = REP,
        units = 12,
        reinforcements = 12,
        hero = { "all_hero_hansolo_tat"},
    },
}
If you want your unit tracked and this bug applies to your map, use uf_updateClassIndex( <class name> ) where <class name> is the name of the hero unit class, such as rep_hero_cloakedanakin. Make sure the user has the v1.3 patch installed first: if uf_updateClassIndex then uf_updateClassIndex("rep_hero_cloakedanakin") end. Stick that code near your SetupTeams sections.

Possible Reason For Bug: I remember thinking that heroes shouldn't be tracked, as their stats differ greatly from normal units, then deciding to track them anyway. I added tracking for SetHeroClass(), guess I forgot about AddHeroClass()...

Banned
User avatar
Posts: 4295
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2008 3:17 pm
Projects :: No Mod project currently.
Games I'm Playing :: MW3 BF3

Re: UnOfficial v1.3 Patch (r117 - Final Release)

Postby Nova Hawk » Sat Aug 01, 2009 3:04 pm

I just have a quick question. How come you guys didn't change the Phase I clone captain to a different one other than the 501st??

PreviousNext

Return to SWBF2 Released Maps & Mods

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests