Old Republic map pack Wip [Makeb released]

Working on a new map? Have a new mod out for swbf2?! Post an announcement of the up-coming release here.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
thelegend
Sith
Sith
Posts: 1433
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2014 6:01 am
Projects :: Star Wars - Battlefront III Legacy
Games I'm Playing :: Swbf GTA CoD LoL KH
xbox live or psn: El_Fabricio#
Location: Right behind you :)

Re: Old Republic map pack Wip

Post by thelegend »

This cantina looks better than the original one. It's more colorful, inviting and more peaceful.
ZoomV
Rebel Warrant Officer
Rebel Warrant Officer
Posts: 308
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2013 11:27 am
Projects :: Old Republic Map pack
Games I'm Playing :: BF2 SWTOR and GW2
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: Belsavis, Maximum Security Ward

Re: Old Republic map pack Wip

Post by ZoomV »

So I decided to try my hand at doing environment mapping.

And well, I can definitely say I got it to reflect the environment, albeit a little too well.
Hidden/Spoiler:
Image
I tried using a alpha layer, but as far as I can tell the alpha layer isn't doing anything. The is reflectivity hardcoded?
MileHighGuy
Jedi
Jedi
Posts: 1145
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2008 7:58 pm

Re: Old Republic map pack Wip

Post by MileHighGuy »

That is awesome! Did you do an env map or did you just enable the rendertype?
AQT
Gametoast Staff
Gametoast Staff
Posts: 4883
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 4:55 pm
Location: SoCal, USA

Re: Old Republic map pack Wip

Post by AQT »

Simply enabling the render type doesn't do anything.
ZoomV wrote:I tried using a alpha layer, but as far as I can tell the alpha layer isn't doing anything. The is reflectivity hardcoded?
To tone down the shininess, you're going to have to edit the specular decay value of the material to where you applied the environment map. Using a hex ediior, I personally would just replace your current material settings with that from the stock Tantive IV trooper's helmet (which has a reasonably shiny environment map applied to it). You will want to replace the information as shown highlighted here.
MileHighGuy
Jedi
Jedi
Posts: 1145
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2008 7:58 pm

Re: Old Republic map pack Wip

Post by MileHighGuy »

Yeah, I could never get it to work, but the BF2_materials doc says this:
Hidden/Spoiler:
Environment Map (RenderType 6 = Render Chrome)
The environment map render type adds support for a reflection map to give a shiny appearance on a surface.
If an environment map is not specified then it will choose an environment map dynamically at run time.
If the object is static or does not move you should provide an environment map.
Must be wrong.
ZoomV
Rebel Warrant Officer
Rebel Warrant Officer
Posts: 308
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2013 11:27 am
Projects :: Old Republic Map pack
Games I'm Playing :: BF2 SWTOR and GW2
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: Belsavis, Maximum Security Ward

Re: Old Republic map pack Wip

Post by ZoomV »

AQT wrote:Simply enabling the render type doesn't do anything.
ZoomV wrote:I tried using a alpha layer, but as far as I can tell the alpha layer isn't doing anything. The is reflectivity hardcoded?
To tone down the shininess, you're going to have to edit the specular decay value of the material to where you applied the environment map. Using a hex ediior, I personally would just replace your current material settings with that from the stock Tantive IV trooper's helmet (which has a reasonably shiny environment map applied to it). You will want to replace the information as shown highlighted here.
Thanks that works.

However I ran into a snag. I was using a single global envmap for the world via the light tab in ZE. I tried to add a another envmap for the city via a shadow region. After putting that in the unit only gets a envmap while in the city and not for the rest of the world.

Another issue is I tried hex editing a darktrooper jumppack onto a unit, and succeeded but the pack is using the unit's texture rather than it's own.

EDIT:
I fixed the envmap problem
Hidden/Spoiler:
Image
EDIT2:

Commencing weapons test....
testing.....
Image
weapons test successful.
User avatar
Anakin
Master of the Force
Master of the Force
Posts: 4776
Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2009 11:37 am
Projects :: RC Side Mod - Remastered - SWBF3 Legacy
Location: Mos Espa (germany)

Re: Old Republic map pack Wip

Post by Anakin »

Very nice. But why did you fix the shiny armor?? It's not a bug, it's a feature. That effect would look awesome for commander chrome from ep7
ZoomV
Rebel Warrant Officer
Rebel Warrant Officer
Posts: 308
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2013 11:27 am
Projects :: Old Republic Map pack
Games I'm Playing :: BF2 SWTOR and GW2
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: Belsavis, Maximum Security Ward

Re: Old Republic map pack Wip

Post by ZoomV »

So I'm having some trouble. I was building makeb as it's own addon directory, but now that it's almost completed I want to merge it into the TOR addon so users will only have that one folder for the trilogy.

However when I tried to do so, I can't get it to work. Only icebound and treefall appear on the maplist.

I noticed pages and pages of these in the BF2log

Code: Select all

Message Severity: 3
C:\Battlefront2\main\Battlefront2\Source\LuaHelper.cpp(312)
CallProc failed: (none):0: attempt to index a nil value
stack traceback:
	(none): in function `IFObj_fnSetVis'
	(none): in function <(none):677>
my addme.lua looks like this:
Hidden/Spoiler:
[code]-- recursively merges the second given table into the first given table
function MergeTables( mission, newFlags )
--for each table entry,
local array = type({})
for key,value in pairs(newFlags) do
--check for nested tables
if type(value) == array then
--mission must have this key as a table too
if type(mission[key]) ~= array then
mission[key] = {}
end
--merge these two tables recursively
MergeTables(mission[key], value)
else
--the key is a simple variable, so simply store it
mission[key] = value
end
end
end

--Search through the missionlist to find a map that matches mapName,
--then insert the new flags into said entry.
--Use this when you know the map already exists, but this content patch is just
--adding new gamemodes (otherwise you should just add whole new entries to the missionlist)
function AddNewGameModes(missionList, mapName, newFlags)
for i, mission in missionList do
if mission.mapluafile == mapName then
MergeTables(mission, newFlags)
end
end
end



--insert totally new maps here:
local sp_n = 0
local mp_n = 0
sp_n = table.getn(sp_missionselect_listbox_contents)

sp_missionselect_listbox_contents[sp_n+1] = {
isModLevel = 1,
mapluafile = "BVS%s_%s",
era_g = 1,
mode_con_g = 1,
change ={
era_g = { name="Second Galactic War" },
},
}
mp_n = table.getn(mp_missionselect_listbox_contents)
mp_missionselect_listbox_contents[mp_n+1] = sp_missionselect_listbox_contents[sp_n+1]

sp_n = table.getn(sp_missionselect_listbox_contents)
sp_missionselect_listbox_contents[sp_n+1] = {
isModLevel = 1,
mapluafile = "ACW%s_%s",
era_g = 1,
mode_con_g = 1,
change ={
era_g = { name="Great Galactic War" },
},
}
mp_n = table.getn(mp_missionselect_listbox_contents)
mp_missionselect_listbox_contents[mp_n+1] = sp_missionselect_listbox_contents[sp_n+1]

sp_n = table.getn(sp_missionselect_listbox_contents)
sp_missionselect_listbox_contents[sp_n+1] = {
isModLevel = 1,
mapluafile = "MAK%s_%s",
era_g = 1,
mode_con_g = 1,
--mode_1flag_g = 1,
change ={
era_g = { name="Second Galactic War" },
},
}
mp_n = table.getn(mp_missionselect_listbox_contents)
mp_missionselect_listbox_contents[mp_n+1] = sp_missionselect_listbox_contents[sp_n+1]

-- associate this mission name with the current downloadable content directory
-- (this tells the engine which maps are downloaded, so you need to include all new mission lua's here)
-- first arg: mapluafile from above
-- second arg: mission script name
-- third arg: level memory modifier. the arg to LuaScript.cpp: DEFAULT_MODEL_MEMORY_PLUS(x)

AddDownloadableContent("ACW","ACWg_con",4)
AddDownloadableContent("BVS","BVSg_con",4)
AddDownloadableContent("MAK","MAKg_con",4)
--AddDownloadableContent("MAK","MAKg_1flag",4)

-- all done
newEntry = nil
n = nil

-- Now load our core.lvl into the shell to add our localize keys
ReadDataFile("..\\..\\addon\\TOR\\data\\_LVL_PC\\core.lvl")
[/code]
Nevermind I fixed it. I forget to copy the new addme over. derp.
AQT
Gametoast Staff
Gametoast Staff
Posts: 4883
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 4:55 pm
Location: SoCal, USA

Re: Old Republic map pack Wip

Post by AQT »

That's one awesome looking bounty hunter! :D
ZoomV wrote:Another issue is I tried hex editing a darktrooper jumppack onto a unit, and succeeded but the pack is using the unit's texture rather than it's own.
It sounds like you assigned the jump pack's MATI the wrong MATD value. Remember that the first MATD in your model is 00, the second is 01, and so on. Locate the fifth value after the jump pack's MATI, and simply change it to the value of the MATD corresponding to the texture you want.
ZoomV
Rebel Warrant Officer
Rebel Warrant Officer
Posts: 308
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2013 11:27 am
Projects :: Old Republic Map pack
Games I'm Playing :: BF2 SWTOR and GW2
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: Belsavis, Maximum Security Ward

Re: Old Republic map pack Wip

Post by ZoomV »

AQT wrote:
ZoomV wrote:Another issue is I tried hex editing a darktrooper jumppack onto a unit, and succeeded but the pack is using the unit's texture rather than it's own.
It sounds like you assigned the jump pack's MATI the wrong MATD value. Remember that the first MATD in your model is 00, the second is 01, and so on. Locate the fifth value after the jump pack's MATI, and simply change it to the value of the MATD corresponding to the texture you want.
I have no idea how to do that

Additionally I have a issue of this flamethrower weapon. I want it to deal minimal initial damage with a strong DoT effect. However no matter how much I nerf this thing it keeps one-shotting everything. It's kinda cheesy to walk into a whole pack of enemies, and then press one button and they all die instantly.

weapon ODF
Hidden/Spoiler:
[code][WeaponClass]
ClassParent = "com_weap_inf_flamethrower"

[Properties]

AnimationBank = "rifle"
OrdnanceName = "imp_weap_champion_flame_ord"

HeatRecoverRate = "0.15"
HeatThreshold = "0.01"

SalvoCount = "10"
ShotsPerSalvo = "1"
SalvoDelay = "0.1"
InitialSalvoDelay = "0.2"
SalvoTime = "0.0"

TriggerSingle = "1"
ShotDelay = "0.1"
HeatPerShot = "0.32"
//MaxPressedTime = "2.25"

HUDTag = "hud_fireshot"
OffhandWeapon = 1
NoFirstPersonFireAnim = 1

// to make it work - Mike Z
FireAnim = 1
InitialSalvoDelay = "0.21" // 7 frames
InstantPlayFireAnim = 1

ZoomMin = "1.5"
ZoomMax = "1.5"
ZoomRate = "0.0"


RoundsPerClip = "-1"
ReloadTime = "1.7"
ShotDelay = "0.41"
TriggerSingle = "1"

HeatRecoverRate = "0.32"
HeatThreshold = "0.20"
//HeatPerShot = "1.0"

//************************************************
//******************* SOUND *****************
//************************************************
FireSound = "flame_on"
ReloadSound = "com_weap_inf_reload_med"
ChangeModeSound = "com_weap_inf_equip_med"
FireEmptySound = "com_weap_inf_ammo_empty"
WeaponChangeSound = "com_weap_inf_equip_med"
JumpSound = "com_weap_inf_rifle_mvt_jump"
LandSound = "com_weap_inf_rifle_mvt_land"
RollSound = "com_weap_inf_rifle_mvt_roll"
//ProneSound = "com_weap_inf_rifle_mvt_lie"
SquatSound = "com_weap_inf_rifle_mvt_squat"
//StandSound = "com_weap_inf_rifle_mvt_getup"

[/code]
Ordnance ODF
Hidden/Spoiler:
[code][OrdnanceClass]

ClassLabel = "emitterordnance"

[Properties]
ImpactEffectWater = "com_sfx_watersplash_ord"

ConeLength = "15"
ConeAngle = "45"
FirstRadius = "2.0"
MaxTargets = "10" // Max number of targets to hit. Chaining is off so the damage will be split between the number of targets
NoChaining = "1" // No chaining - all bolts coming from the attacker

//Explosion = "com_weap_inf_incinerator_exp"

//OrdnanceSound = "com_weap_launcher_energy_dumbfire"

Damage = "5" // This is the min damage. Even if the initial damage is split between the number of targets, it will never go below this number for each target
MaxDamage = "5" // This is the max damage
JumpDeduction = "0" // No jump deduction. This is for chaining only
DamageThreshold = "0" // Always do damage (no threshold)
MaxJumpDistance = "0" // No max jump distance because the chaining is off

VehicleScale = "0.1"
ShieldScale = "1.0"
PersonScale = "1.0"
AnimalScale = "1.0"
DroidScale = "1.0"
BuildingScale = "0.1"

//Push = "0.0"
//LightningEffect = "com_sfx_lightning"
//LightningEffectScale = "0.25"
//NoTargetLightningEffectCount = "5" // The number of ligthning effects to display when the ordinance has no targets to hit
//NoTargetLightningEffectRandomSpread = "0.4" // The random rotation spread the ligthning effects does when the ordinance has no targets to hit

AffectFriends = "0" // default is 1. should the ordnance affect friends.
AffectEnemies = "1" // default is 1. should the ordnance affect enemies.

PlayEffectOnOwnerAimer = "com_sfx_weap_flamethrower_ord"
SmolderDamageRate = "5.0" // default is 0. the damage rate for smoldering targets

SmolderEffectTimer = 6.0

SmolderEffect = "com_sfx_inf_damage_fire"
SmolderBone = "bone_l_forearm"

SmolderEffect = "com_sfx_inf_damage_fire"
SmolderBone = "bone_r_forearm"

SmolderEffect = "com_sfx_inf_damage_fire"
SmolderBone = "bone_head"

SmolderEffect = "com_sfx_inf_damage_fire"
SmolderBone = "bone_ribcage"

SmolderEffect = "com_sfx_inf_damage_smoke"
SmolderBone = "bone_ribcage"

SmolderEffect = "com_sfx_inf_damage_fire"
SmolderBone = "bone_pelvis"

SmolderVanishDeath = "0"

BonusAmplification = "0.25" //how much more damage will be done when team_bonus_blaster_amplication is on[/code]
Isaac1138
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 149
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2015 12:05 am
Projects :: No Mod project currently.
Games I'm Playing :: BF1+2 stronghold
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: Connecticut

Re: Old Republic map pack Wip

Post by Isaac1138 »

I like that trooper's shinyness
ZoomV
Rebel Warrant Officer
Rebel Warrant Officer
Posts: 308
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2013 11:27 am
Projects :: Old Republic Map pack
Games I'm Playing :: BF2 SWTOR and GW2
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: Belsavis, Maximum Security Ward

Re: Old Republic map pack Wip

Post by ZoomV »

Map is finished
Hidden/Spoiler:
Image
Generalfacu
Rebel Sergeant
Rebel Sergeant
Posts: 201
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 8:38 pm
Projects :: No Mod project currently.
Games I'm Playing :: Battlefront II KOTOR
Location: Jundland wastes, Argentina

Re: Old Republic map pack Wip

Post by Generalfacu »

ZoomV wrote:Map is finished
Hidden/Spoiler:
Image
Whoa...trippy...hahaha it looks really cool.
ZoomV
Rebel Warrant Officer
Rebel Warrant Officer
Posts: 308
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2013 11:27 am
Projects :: Old Republic Map pack
Games I'm Playing :: BF2 SWTOR and GW2
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: Belsavis, Maximum Security Ward

Re: Old Republic map pack Wip

Post by ZoomV »

Generalfacu wrote:
ZoomV wrote:Map is finished
Hidden/Spoiler:
Image
Whoa...trippy...hahaha it looks really cool.
It was the closest I could get to the way SWTOR's maps are done. I redid the Icebound and Treefall maps as well.
Hidden/Spoiler:
Image
Honestly if I could just get like 2k resolution top down screenshots from ZE I could probably match SWTOR's map aesthetic. Unfortunately my monitor isn't even 2k resolution.
Generalfacu
Rebel Sergeant
Rebel Sergeant
Posts: 201
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 8:38 pm
Projects :: No Mod project currently.
Games I'm Playing :: Battlefront II KOTOR
Location: Jundland wastes, Argentina

Re: Old Republic map pack Wip

Post by Generalfacu »

Oh, now I see what you did. Haven't played SWTOR for quite a long time. Actually, I believe that with the background of the battle it'll be perfect.
Hidden/Spoiler:
Image
Last edited by Generalfacu on Mon Aug 17, 2015 6:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.
ZoomV
Rebel Warrant Officer
Rebel Warrant Officer
Posts: 308
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2013 11:27 am
Projects :: Old Republic Map pack
Games I'm Playing :: BF2 SWTOR and GW2
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: Belsavis, Maximum Security Ward

Re: Old Republic map pack Wip

Post by ZoomV »

Look guys! I am actually making progress
Hidden/Spoiler:
Image
At this juncture the map itself is completed, I'm in the process of making CP position tweeks for balance and gameplay reasons. I'm trying to make sure it's at Treefall standard or better.
jedimoose32
Field Commander
Field Commander
Posts: 938
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:41 am
Projects :: Engineering Degree
Location: The Flatlands of Canada

Re: Old Republic map pack Wip

Post by jedimoose32 »

Looks very nice! :thumbs:
Sandtrooper956
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 158
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 3:58 pm
Projects :: Just some little things
Games I'm Playing :: SWBF2 and EAW
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: Old Republic map pack Wip

Post by Sandtrooper956 »

Wow I just love that Blue-White color scheme, it looks great!
ZoomV
Rebel Warrant Officer
Rebel Warrant Officer
Posts: 308
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2013 11:27 am
Projects :: Old Republic Map pack
Games I'm Playing :: BF2 SWTOR and GW2
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: Belsavis, Maximum Security Ward

Re: Old Republic map pack Wip

Post by ZoomV »

Makeb should be done soon, balancing is still being a pill. Asymmetrical map design is hard.


Unit changes for makeb:
  • Three new Hero units have been added: Havoc Squad C.O. (republic - Makeb, Belsavis), Grand Champion of the Great Hunt (imperial - Makeb), and Cipher 8 (imperial - Belsavis)
  • Black-ops Troopers have had their health slightly reduced.
  • SpecForce Vanguard's Thumper weapon now has limited ammo. 48 shots with 12 shot clips.
  • SpecForce Vanguard's High Impact Bolt now has unlimited clips.
  • The damage dealt by SpecForce Commando's Explosive Round has been reduced.
  • Concussion Grenade Launcher's ordnance explosion has increased shake.
  • Republic and Imperial Engineers have slightly increased health.
  • Shotguns now kick when firing.
  • Republic Soldiers, Snipers, and Heavy Troopers are now reflection mapped.
  • The texture of red and yellow lasers has been modified.
  • Sticky Grenades should now stick to almost all objects.
  • Non-playable Jedi units are now in play on Alderaan.
Sandtrooper956
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 158
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 3:58 pm
Projects :: Just some little things
Games I'm Playing :: SWBF2 and EAW
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: Old Republic map pack Wip

Post by Sandtrooper956 »

ZoomV wrote:Makeb should be done soon, balancing is still being a pill. Asymmetrical map design is hard.


Unit changes for makeb:
  • Three new Hero units have been added: Havoc Squad C.O. (republic - Makeb, Belsavis), Grand Champion of the Great Hunt (imperial - Makeb), and Cipher 8 (imperial - Belsavis)
  • Black-ops Troopers have had their health slightly reduced.
  • SpecForce Vanguard's Thumper weapon now has limited ammo. 48 shots with 12 shot clips.
  • SpecForce Vanguard's High Impact Bolt now has unlimited clips.
  • The damage dealt by SpecForce Commando's Explosive Round has been reduced.
  • Concussion Grenade Launcher's ordnance explosion has increased shake.
  • Republic and Imperial Engineers have slightly increased health.
  • Shotguns now kick when firing.
  • Republic Soldiers, Snipers, and Heavy Troopers are now reflection mapped.
  • The texture of red and yellow lasers has been modified.
  • Sticky Grenades should now stick to almost all objects.
  • Non-playable Jedi units are now in play on Alderaan.
Sorry for asking, but do you have a release date? As much as I want to play this, I also want to review it. Things have been pretty stale lately, making it hard to find anything to review on my channel. And Filefront getting shut down doesn't help.
Post Reply