Old Republic map pack Wip [Makeb released]

Working on a new map? Have a new mod out for swbf2?! Post an announcement of the up-coming release here.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
TWINKEYRUNAWAY
Lieutenant General
Lieutenant General
Posts: 725
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 3:13 pm
Projects :: Empire Rising
Games I'm Playing :: SWBF Doom FONV
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: 411Remnant
Contact:

Re: Alderaan: Treefall a Old Republic map and mod (released)

Post by TWINKEYRUNAWAY »

Actually Action morales is a little cheaper & you get better fps. For me at least, fraps file sizes are super huge. Ill go ahead & deffinally take your advice on the frame rate cap, thanks bro. Right now I think ill wait on the machinima though.
THEWULFMAN
Space Ranger
Posts: 5557
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 3:30 pm
Projects :: Evolved 2
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Contact:

Re: Alderaan: Treefall a Old Republic map and mod (released)

Post by THEWULFMAN »

TWINKEYRUNAWAY wrote:For me at least, fraps file sizes are super huge.

That's because unlike something like Bandicam, Fraps doesn't compress video on the fly. Which is why it's less resource intensive than Bandicam is. Bandicam is constantly compressing the video while also recording the video.

This results in larger file sizes and higher quality video. If you don't have the HDD space, it can be an issue.
Marth8880
Resistance Leader
Posts: 5005
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 8:43 pm
Projects :: EVERYWHERE + Project Infiltrator
Games I'm Playing :: Silent Hill 2
xbox live or psn: Marth8880
Location: Edinburgh, UK
Contact:

Re: Alderaan: Treefall a Old Republic map and mod (released)

Post by Marth8880 »

^Exactly, for the most part. If your game is installed on the same hard drive that's being written to and you're getting performance issues while recording with Fraps, it's because Fraps uses a crap ton of your hard drive's write-bandwidth so it can write the raw video data to the disk.
ZoomV
Rebel Warrant Officer
Rebel Warrant Officer
Posts: 308
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2013 11:27 am
Projects :: Old Republic Map pack
Games I'm Playing :: BF2 SWTOR and GW2
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: Belsavis, Maximum Security Ward

Re: Alderaan: Treefall a Old Republic map and mod (released)

Post by ZoomV »

So have some new shinies.

New cliff and rock textures. Also a lot of the rocks on treefall and icebound are higher rez. I had forgotten that all the BF1 assets come with -compress in the tga.option.
Hidden/Spoiler:
Image
Unfortunately I cannot seem to get the tat canyonwall meshes to take specular or bump mapping. :cpu:

Republic troopers have been specular mapped. I found that having a pure white 255 specular map over the visor makes a really nice effect. I applied that to the imperial units as well although its far less noticeable on them.
Hidden/Spoiler:
Image
jedimoose32
Field Commander
Field Commander
Posts: 938
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:41 am
Projects :: Engineering Degree
Location: The Flatlands of Canada

Re: Alderaan: Treefall a Old Republic map and mod (released)

Post by jedimoose32 »

Nice new specular map! You're right, the visor effect is nice.
ZoomV
Rebel Warrant Officer
Rebel Warrant Officer
Posts: 308
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2013 11:27 am
Projects :: Old Republic Map pack
Games I'm Playing :: BF2 SWTOR and GW2
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: Belsavis, Maximum Security Ward

Re: Alderaan: Treefall a Old Republic map and mod (released)

Post by ZoomV »

New lighting effects
Hidden/Spoiler:
Image
I tried animating the spotlights in ZE, however apparently that only moves the prop that emits the lights, but not the effect itself.
jedimoose32
Field Commander
Field Commander
Posts: 938
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:41 am
Projects :: Engineering Degree
Location: The Flatlands of Canada

Re: Alderaan: Treefall a Old Republic map and mod (released)

Post by jedimoose32 »

Nice effect, definitely adds to the environment of the maximum security facility. Might I suggest adding something to each of those towers that would be a believable source for the lights? (I mean, right now I guess they could be coming from somewhere inside the towers...)
Something simple like this:
Image
Also maybe making the cone angle for the lights a bit wider might look a bit better. Most search lights are able to light up an area of at least 3-5 meters (or yards) across. That's obviously an artistic decision you have to make, just a suggestion on my part. :)
ZoomV
Rebel Warrant Officer
Rebel Warrant Officer
Posts: 308
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2013 11:27 am
Projects :: Old Republic Map pack
Games I'm Playing :: BF2 SWTOR and GW2
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: Belsavis, Maximum Security Ward

Re: Alderaan: Treefall a Old Republic map and mod (released)

Post by ZoomV »

There is actually a spotlight source, which was what I was referring to with the prop comment. However the light bloom from the tower itself tends to obscure them at long distances.
jedimoose32
Field Commander
Field Commander
Posts: 938
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:41 am
Projects :: Engineering Degree
Location: The Flatlands of Canada

Re: Alderaan: Treefall a Old Republic map and mod (released)

Post by jedimoose32 »

Oh okay. My bad. :)
AQT
Gametoast Staff
Gametoast Staff
Posts: 4883
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 4:55 pm
Location: SoCal, USA

Re: Alderaan: Treefall a Old Republic map and mod (released)

Post by AQT »

ZoomV wrote:I tried animating the spotlights in ZE, however apparently that only moves the prop that emits the lights, but not the effect itself.
This might help: viewtopic.php?p=436426#p436426

Also, have you considered using a model for that road leading into the facility instead just a terrain texture? I'm pretty sure the DMI Prefab Pack already has such a model if you're interested.
ZoomV
Rebel Warrant Officer
Rebel Warrant Officer
Posts: 308
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2013 11:27 am
Projects :: Old Republic Map pack
Games I'm Playing :: BF2 SWTOR and GW2
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: Belsavis, Maximum Security Ward

Re: Old Republic map pack Wip

Post by ZoomV »

AQT wrote:
ZoomV wrote:I tried animating the spotlights in ZE, however apparently that only moves the prop that emits the lights, but not the effect itself.
This might help: viewtopic.php?p=436426#p436426
that did the trick.
Also, have you considered using a model for that road leading into the facility instead just a terrain texture? I'm pretty sure the DMI Prefab Pack already has such a model if you're interested.
I can't seem to scale the road to what I have now, and I'd rather not rip up the entire prison section to accommodate the object. In other news I got rid of the bumpy texture on the road. Apparently bump maps are applied through multiple terrain layers.




----------------

Visual Upgrade Changelog
-Treefall should now perform better on some machines
-Treefall has had some lighting and texture changes
-Treefall's ambient forest sounds has been changed to a more appropriate forest sounds.
-Icebound's lighting has been completely revamped
-Imperial Soldiers now have better textures
-Republic Soldiers are now specular mapped.
-Republic Officer's pistol no longer has a accuracy reduction the more it is fired.
-The Operative's stealth effect is now fixed.
-Faction friendly NPC sides such as the Sith Warriors no longer spawn when the enemy team's reinforcements get low.
-The spawn rates of the Prison Guards and Escaped Prisoners on Icebound have been adjusted.
-Damage dealt by Prison Guards and Escaped Prisoners has been reduced.


See release thread for download.
------------------



Now with that out of the way I can now focus on new stuffs.

UPDATE

new stuff coming
Hidden/Spoiler:
Image
EDIT
This project has not been abandoned.

Needs a lot of retexturing, but I'm still working on the layout.
Hidden/Spoiler:
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
The OP is updated with these images and you can also see the concept/inspiration images for Makeb in the OP
Generalfacu
Rebel Sergeant
Rebel Sergeant
Posts: 201
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 8:38 pm
Projects :: No Mod project currently.
Games I'm Playing :: Battlefront II KOTOR
Location: Jundland wastes, Argentina

Re: Old Republic map pack Wip

Post by Generalfacu »

I'm glad you are still working on this mappack! I've been playing a lot Treefall and Icebound lately.
Sandtrooper956
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 158
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 3:58 pm
Projects :: Just some little things
Games I'm Playing :: SWBF2 and EAW
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: Old Republic map pack Wip

Post by Sandtrooper956 »

You may of already been asked this so i'm sorry if you have but do you plan on adding heroes?
Isaac1138
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 149
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2015 12:05 am
Projects :: No Mod project currently.
Games I'm Playing :: BF1+2 stronghold
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: Connecticut

Re: Old Republic map pack Wip

Post by Isaac1138 »

I thinkyou shoulsat use less bf2 assets (already there) as least as possible. It will look better, the mod has much potential, it just looks like the map looks like an old bf2 map
Sandtrooper956
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 158
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 3:58 pm
Projects :: Just some little things
Games I'm Playing :: SWBF2 and EAW
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: Old Republic map pack Wip

Post by Sandtrooper956 »

Not really, I think he should just use whatever looks good with the map. He should use the assets he needs. Just because they are stock doesn't mean they are bad.
atm101010
Recruit Womprat Killer
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2015 7:25 pm
Projects :: No Mod project currently.
Games I'm Playing :: BF2 JKA EAW
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: Old Republic map pack Wip

Post by atm101010 »

Is it possible for you to make different sides for each map? Just curious.
ARC1778
Sergeant Major
Sergeant Major
Posts: 230
Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2015 7:44 am
Projects :: WARFRONT + Various Mods for Other Games
Games I'm Playing :: SWBF2+RC+RTW MTW NTW
xbox live or psn: AlexisVixie
Location: Glasgow, tumblr.

Re: Old Republic map pack Wip

Post by ARC1778 »

Isaac1138 wrote:I thinkyou shoulsat use less bf2 assets (already there) as least as possible. It will look better, the mod has much potential, it just looks like the map looks like an old bf2 map

I think getting a working version out is more important than looking pritty, it can always be improved later?
ZoomV
Rebel Warrant Officer
Rebel Warrant Officer
Posts: 308
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2013 11:27 am
Projects :: Old Republic Map pack
Games I'm Playing :: BF2 SWTOR and GW2
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: Belsavis, Maximum Security Ward

Re: Old Republic map pack Wip

Post by ZoomV »

Isaac1138 wrote:I thinkyou shoulsat use less bf2 assets (already there) as least as possible. It will look better, the mod has much potential, it just looks like the map looks like an old bf2 map
I use stock assets because.

a) They look better than 95% of modder's resources
b) They aren't buggy
c) They fit the bill - finding custom models that fit my purpose is rare to the extreme.

I'm not a artist, I will upgrade visuals where it is convenient to do so, but I'm here for the gameplay not the aesthetics.
Sandtrooper956 wrote:You may of already been asked this so i'm sorry if you have but do you plan on adding heroes?
I've prototyped a hero unit for it. At this point however I have not decided if I am going to go through with it, especially since the final map of the trilogy still requires major work. I will not delay it just to put in a half-done hero unit.
Kingpin
Jedi
Jedi
Posts: 1089
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2013 7:09 pm
Projects :: The Sith Wars II
Location: Denver, CO
Contact:

Re: Old Republic map pack Wip

Post by Kingpin »

ZoomV wrote: I've prototyped a hero unit for it. At this point however I have not decided if I am going to go through with it, especially since the final map of the trilogy still requires major work. I will not delay it just to put in a half-done hero unit.
When it comes to TOR heroes, I knew a thing or two.... Diet Dr. Pepper. I would have sent you all of my Sith Wars assets if I still had them, sadly, I don't.
ZoomV
Rebel Warrant Officer
Rebel Warrant Officer
Posts: 308
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2013 11:27 am
Projects :: Old Republic Map pack
Games I'm Playing :: BF2 SWTOR and GW2
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: Belsavis, Maximum Security Ward

Re: Old Republic map pack Wip

Post by ZoomV »

To prove that I'm actually doing stuff
Hidden/Spoiler:
Image
Image
Post Reply