DISCOVERY -- Making your map pack run in ONE addon folder!

In this forum you will find and post information regarding the modding of Star Wars Battlefront 2. DO NOT POST MOD IDEAS/REQUESTS.

Moderator: Moderators

Jedi Admin
User avatar
Posts: 11025
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2005 11:42 pm
Location: Indiana
Projects :: No Mod project currently.
Games I'm Playing :: Destiny
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

DISCOVERY -- Making your map pack run in ONE addon folder!

Postby Teancum » Fri Mar 16, 2007 1:29 pm

Yeah, I always knew it was possible, but last two nights ago I actually got down to brass tax and did it. Turns out it runs like a champ. I talked to Squipple a bit on how to do it, but I dunno if he got around to doing it. (I still hadn't done it myself so I couldn't tell him 100% how)

Anyways, anybody working on a map pack should hold off a few days as I'll be writing a tutorial tonight and uploading it tomorrow. Those who have made a few maps and understand how reqs and luas work will actually find it surprisingly simple. I'll also be uploading a 'dummy' project folder (The BF1 pack's project, but without any mshs, odfs, etc... just the folders) so you can see how things lay out.

Anyways, I haven't tested to see if this will actually help us break the 56 map limit since I only had about 40 maps including the pack. But if nothing else having everything in one folder makes map packs very easy to enable and disable.

-T


Addon tutorial
Creating a 1-addon folder project:

Here's a relatively simple way to put all of the maps you've released into a 1-addon folder map pack. There's a couple of benefits to doing so:

1-It's really easy for a user to enable/disable your map (in case they have 56 maps, which is the limit)
2-You save yourself a little bit of space. If you use the same sides on multiple maps then you don't have lots of copies of the files. Same deal with core.lvl and mission.lvl. Only one needed.
3-Once your worlds and sides are completed then lua and localization changes can be done globally.


YOU NEED THE FOLLOWING PROGRAM, AVAILABLE FROM http://www.scintilla.org
SCiTE --it's THE BEST lua program since things are color coded.




So here's how (this is assuming all of the maps in your pack are completed). In this example I'll be putting in the two Bespin maps:

1-Create a new project. Name it whatever you want. For the Conversion Pack, the three letter ID is BF1. (From here on out replace BF1 with your project's name). Only leave 'conquest' selected. It makes things easier on you.

2-Once your project is ready, browse to data_BF1/Worlds/BF1. Delete everything in this folder. This way it doesn't actually munge a world, making things faster.

3-First things first, open the addme.lua in data_BF1/Worlds/BF1. Highlight what is shown in this image:
Hidden/Spoiler:
Image




4-Next, open your first map's addme.lua, highlight the same thing, copy and paste over the stuff in the other lua.

5-Close the lua for your first MAP, but leave the PROJECT (map pack) lua open.

6-Open your second map's addme.lua, copy the same stuff you did the first time. DO NOT PASTE YET.

7-Go back to your PROJECT lua and highlight what is show in this image:
Hidden/Spoiler:
Image



8-Paste the stuff from your second map's lua. It should look like this image:
Hidden/Spoiler:
Image


****Repeat steps 6-8 as many times as needed for additional maps

9-When you're done, close all luas, but save your PROJECT lua.

10-Open your PROJECT's mission.req, found in data_BF1/Common. Highlight what's in this image:
Hidden/Spoiler:
Image



11-Open up your first map's mission.req. Highlight the same section, replace what you highlighted in your PROJECT mission.req.

12-Open your second map's mission.req, Highlight that same section, but this time paste it just below the first map's stuff, like in this image:
Hidden/Spoiler:
Image


****Repeat step 12 as many times as needed for additional maps

13-Close all mission.reqs, make sure you save your PROJECT mission.req

14-Browse to data_BF1/Common/Mission. DELETE EVERY req file in there, you don't need them

15-Browse to your first map's mission folder, copy all the req files over to your PROJECT mission folder.
****Repeat step 15 as many times as needed for additional maps

16-Open data_BF1/Common/Scripts, delete the BF1 folder.

17-Open your first maps /common/scripts folder, copy that three letter folder into your PROJECT scripts folder.

18-Run editlocalize and add the maps localization as needed.

19-Munge your project, making sure you have BF1 as the world selected, common and localize checked.

20-Open /Addon/FIRST MAP/_LVL_PC. Copy JUST THE FOLDERS into /Addon/BF1/_LVL_PC.
****Repeat as needed for other maps.


YAY!!!! WE'RE DONE!

1st Lieutenant
User avatar
Posts: 420
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2005 7:38 pm

Postby squipple » Fri Mar 16, 2007 2:44 pm

Yeah, we talked about it, but I didn't get any indication of how to :)
You may have been trying to send me a file in xfire...I can't transfer files via xfire.
I wanted to release the squeddies pack tonight, so if you've got any time whatsoever, please get on IM and let me know what the skinny is. I'll test the 56 (it's 58 for me..strange) map limit as well. 8) If not, I'll hold off till tomorrow's tutorial.
Thanks Tean

Food_Eater

Postby Food_Eater » Fri Mar 16, 2007 6:54 pm

Sweet! I was just about to ask this question here on the forums, but now I don't have to. Thank you Tean.

Jedi High Council
User avatar
Posts: 2275
Joined: Sat Jun 17, 2006 9:51 am
Location: Canada
xbox live or psn: Xanthius Wylon

Postby Darth_Z13 » Fri Mar 16, 2007 8:28 pm

Sweet but do you need the source files? Because I've lost the source files from two of my previous maps so if I was gonna release a pack, that would pose a problem....

Jedi Admin
User avatar
Posts: 11025
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2005 11:42 pm
Location: Indiana
Projects :: No Mod project currently.
Games I'm Playing :: Destiny
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Postby Teancum » Sat Mar 17, 2007 12:43 am

I've posted a downloadable tutorial at the link below. And yes, source files are needed (at least the luas)

This is not a tut for beginners. You need a decent knowledge of how luas and reqs work.

http://www.filetoast.com/download.php?file=244642

1st Lieutenant
User avatar
Posts: 420
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2005 7:38 pm

Postby squipple » Sat Mar 17, 2007 7:43 pm

Ok, got the tutorial and got it completed...it works great, however there's a problem with loading screens. All of them are named common.lvl, so I can't place them all in one folder or they overwrite each other. I tried renaming the req and remunging load to see if it would look for that, but apparently it needs to be named common.lvl.
Any suggestions?

Edit: Nevermind, I got it. Pack will be released tomorrow.

Chief Warrant Officer
User avatar
Posts: 338
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2006 12:22 am
Location: The US, in the state of UTAH

Postby [SBF]ATATFIGHTR » Sun Mar 18, 2007 11:46 am

That is cool, but what does it do to have your map pack on one addon folder?

1st Lieutenant
User avatar
Posts: 420
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2005 7:38 pm

Postby squipple » Sun Mar 18, 2007 5:36 pm

Well, I got the pack set up with this, and am uploading it currently. Some interesting things I found:
- Not just map names have to be re-localized, but ALL localization needs to be redone for ALL maps (units, cps, weapons, etc)
- Load screens need to be unique, so when you follow this tutorial, make sure that instead of naming your req common.req, you name it something unique, like the 3-letter world name. Then when calling it in your luas, make sure you're calling your load screen as ReadDataFile("dc:Load\\abc.lvl")
-it DOES work around the 56 (or 59 in my case) map limit! :D If all added up, I'd have 62 maps in my addon folder currently, and it's working fine.

Jedi Admin
User avatar
Posts: 11025
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2005 11:42 pm
Location: Indiana
Projects :: No Mod project currently.
Games I'm Playing :: Destiny
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Postby Teancum » Sun Mar 18, 2007 6:16 pm

SWEET!!! I was hoping someone could report back on that.

That means the SWBF Conversion Pack will go from 30 addon folders down to ONE.

Old School Staff
User avatar
Posts: 2059
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2005 9:54 am

Postby Qdin » Wed Mar 21, 2007 5:40 pm

*woot*

Let's all celebrate it with The Gurudance!

*starts the Gurudance as Guru's Private Dancing Monkey*

btw, I got monopol on the Gurudance :o But since I encouraged ya'll to dance along.. I'll let you do it this time.. :lol:

Very good news, guys :)

Old School Staff
User avatar
Posts: 1176
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2005 2:33 pm

Postby Epena » Wed Mar 21, 2007 6:36 pm

Now the question is: Just how many maps can you have in your folder? No limit? 95? 187? 56 folders worth?

Sith Master
User avatar
Posts: 2652
Joined: Sat Jun 03, 2006 5:15 pm
Location: In An Epic Space Battle!

Postby Hebes24 » Wed Mar 21, 2007 7:05 pm

Probably 56 folders worth.

Also, If you wanted to update one of the maps in the pack, what would you do about munging? Would you munge just the pack, the map and then the pack?

Jedi Admin
User avatar
Posts: 11025
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2005 11:42 pm
Location: Indiana
Projects :: No Mod project currently.
Games I'm Playing :: Destiny
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re:

Postby Teancum » Wed Jan 23, 2008 11:22 am

Teancum wrote:I've posted a downloadable tutorial at the link below. And yes, source files are needed (at least the luas)

This is not a tut for beginners. You need a decent knowledge of how luas and reqs work.

http://www.filetoast.com/download.php?file=244642


I know filetoast has long since been down, but if anyone still has this tutorial I wrote it'd save me from re-writing it. A few people have asked how-to.

Sith Master
User avatar
Posts: 2768
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2007 10:51 am
Location: Ghosting around GT
Projects :: Battlefront Zer0
Games I'm Playing :: SWTOR
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: DISCOVERY -- Making your map pack run in ONE addon folder!

Postby MandeRek » Wed Jan 23, 2008 11:28 am

Great, you know that I was waiting for this ;) Wonderful that these kind of tuts are released; they make it a bit nicer, and, i think, more professional looking. Thanks Tean :D


Jedi Admin
User avatar
Posts: 11025
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2005 11:42 pm
Location: Indiana
Projects :: No Mod project currently.
Games I'm Playing :: Destiny
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: DISCOVERY -- Making your map pack run in ONE addon folder!

Postby Teancum » Wed Jan 23, 2008 11:44 am

Thanks Ace, you saved me :bowdown:

Gametoast Staff
Posts: 3469
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 6:23 am

Re: DISCOVERY -- Making your map pack run in ONE addon folde

Postby AceMastermind » Wed Jan 23, 2008 12:12 pm

No problem, I try to keep all released tutorials on my harddrive, just incase.
Your original tutorial didn't have the pics inserted into the document, I did that when I was reading through it back when you first released it, you can delete those out of it to make the doc load up quicker.
Also I think there may have been a typo in your original, right above the first pic you referenced "Fig 2"(pic 2), so I inserted "Fig 1"(pic 1) there with a "1?" above it, because the next picture was also referencing "Figure 2".

EDIT
Here's the original (this one is a self extracting archive, Manderek):
addon_tutorial.exe

Sith Master
User avatar
Posts: 2768
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2007 10:51 am
Location: Ghosting around GT
Projects :: Battlefront Zer0
Games I'm Playing :: SWTOR
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: DISCOVERY -- Making your map pack run in ONE addon folder!

Postby MandeRek » Wed Jan 23, 2008 12:13 pm

Just to ask; this isn't a self extractory file isn't it? What do i need to open it?

Jedi Admin
User avatar
Posts: 11025
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2005 11:42 pm
Location: Indiana
Projects :: No Mod project currently.
Games I'm Playing :: Destiny
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: DISCOVERY -- Making your map pack run in ONE addon folder!

Postby Teancum » Wed Jan 23, 2008 1:25 pm

Grab is .exe file in the post above yours, it'll extract files to a folder for ya.

Sith Master
User avatar
Posts: 2768
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2007 10:51 am
Location: Ghosting around GT
Projects :: Battlefront Zer0
Games I'm Playing :: SWTOR
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: DISCOVERY -- Making your map pack run in ONE addon folder!

Postby MandeRek » Wed Jan 23, 2008 5:19 pm

Ok, great, thanks guys! Great tut also, I think we all be glad to have it now! Well done ;)

Next

Return to SWBF2 Modding

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests