How to make an Installer for your map (Using Inno Setup) FAQ

In this forum you will find and post information regarding the modding of Star Wars Battlefront 2. DO NOT POST MOD IDEAS/REQUESTS.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
Ace_Azzameen_5
Jedi
Jedi
Posts: 1119
Joined: Sat Apr 23, 2005 8:52 pm
Projects :: No Mod project currently.
Games I'm Playing :: I have not listed any games yet
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

RE: How to make an Installer for your map (Using Inno Setup)

Post by Ace_Azzameen_5 »

Inno Setup can make really small and good looking installers for your map, without any ad's and its free. So can NSIS, but I never learned how. Anyway, whipping out a turtorial in 10 minuts:
Software Setup
1. Download Inno Setup, Install it
Setting up your files
2. Make a new folder anywhere you want, I'll call it "mapinstaller"
3.Inside map installer, make two text docks, saved as rtf is the best, IMHO. Call one "infobefore" and the other "infoafter" (for pros:names can be changed) Also add a txt file called license.
4. If you want, go get an icon (.ico) and put in the folder as well. And to add a copy of your map's addon folder folder here. (this is so that you can always recompile the installer without actually updating the map)

5. Open Inno Setup. In the dialog box, select "Create a new script file...with wizard...." and hit "ok", then "next" on the wizard.]
y
6. Application Info Fill in the application info theway you want. I suggest things like "My Map-Setup" and gametoast for the website. This info will appear under the icon in windows in tile or detail view, and in some parts of the installer.

7. Installation Destination
The App. Dest. Base folder should be set at Program Files.
The App. Folder name should be set as "LucasArts\Star Wars Battlefront II\GameData\AddOn\!@#" You have to have your 3 letter map folder name on the end Unless you put the copy of you made of your map in another folder and browse to that folder when selecting source files for the installer

8.Application Info "The app doesn't Have a main executable" Check that. Now add the copy of your map folder in "mapinstaller" to the "Other Application Files" area.

9. Shortucts Just next through this part, no one wants a start menu folder for a mod map. I'll show you how to disable SmF's altogehter later.

10. Application Documenation
Add the two Rtfs and the txt file you made earlier-where they belong.

11. Languages Add whatever languages you want. The installer files text will show up in everyone's correct language. I'm not gonna tell you how to add multiple copies of your info and license files to go with the languages.

12. Compiler Settings
Output folder-I usually choose my desktop. This is where the exe goes when its 'munged'.
....File name-Name of your installer file. you can rename it later, but that's hard.
Custom Setup Icon-If you have on, cohse the ico in "mapinstaller"
Setup Password-NO. Unless....yes..for beta's...

13.Close the Wizard, do not compile, and save your script in "mapinstaller".
SWBF-ifying-some manually editing
1.At the Line
Compression = lzma
add /ultra so it looks like this
Compression=lzma/ultra

2. Add these lines to disable Start Menu Icons, Increase compression some more, stop an annoying ininstallr from appearing in your addon folder, and get rid of some unnecessary setup pages.

InternalCompressLevel=ultra
AllowRootDirectory=true
DirExistsWarning=no
DisableFinishedPage=true
ShowLanguageDialog=yes
DisableReadyPage=true
Uninstallable=false
WindowVisible=true

And compile. To test, move your map folder out of addon and try to install. Always test the installer folder version before a release-you may have forgotten to update it to your latest munge.

This tutorial is BETA, safety not gauranteed. Use common sense. If I made a typo that says "DELETE ALL YOUR STUFF" don't do it. . .ask me in this thread first.

Some extra commands:
WizardImageFile=Mymapinstaller\1.bmp
WizardSmallImageFile=Mymapinstaller\2.bmp

These will replace the default installer picture.
Qdin
Old School Staff
Posts: 2059
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2005 9:54 am
Projects :: No Mod project currently.
Games I'm Playing :: I have not listed any games yet
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

RE: How to make an Installer for your map (Using Inno Setup)

Post by Qdin »

Thanks alot, Ace! :D

And thanks for making it so fast! :)

I know many want to know these simple, yet very important stuffs *hinthintmehinthint* :P

any questions, anybody?
DooFi

RE: How to make an Installer for your map (Using Inno Setup)

Post by DooFi »

Problem is that it won't work with German WIndows, as SWBF and pretty much every other program installs to "Programme" instead of "Program Files" by default. ;)
I'm going keep copying "manually", to make sure what and where I installed, but I know lots of people that are just too dumb to follow the readme-instructions most mappers offer....
Ace_Azzameen_5
Jedi
Jedi
Posts: 1119
Joined: Sat Apr 23, 2005 8:52 pm
Projects :: No Mod project currently.
Games I'm Playing :: I have not listed any games yet
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

RE: How to make an Installer for your map (Using Inno Setup)

Post by Ace_Azzameen_5 »

no, it auto dedtects your program files folder, or programme or whatever.

Or maybe not, but I know my Rend's Coruscant two pack worked in many languages .

I'll check that out.

EDIT- On a little bit different topic, here's what multiple lannguages looks like. I could only translate or get translations for French, German, and Danish FTW.
Name: eng; MessagesFile: compiler:Default.isl; LicenseFile: C:\Licsence.txt; InfoBeforeFile: C:\Dpreinfo.rtf; InfoAfterFile: C:\postinfo.rtf
Name: bra; MessagesFile: compiler:Languages\BrazilianPortuguese.isl
Name: cat; MessagesFile: compiler:Languages\Catalan.isl
Name: cze; MessagesFile: compiler:Languages\Czech.isl
Name: dan; MessagesFile: compiler:Languages\Danish.isl; LicenseFile: C:\LicsenceDK.txt; InfoBeforeFile: preinfoDK.rtf; InfoAfterFile:C:\postinfoDK.rtf
Name: dut; MessagesFile: compiler:Languages\Dutch.isl
Name: fin; MessagesFile: compiler:Languages\Finnish.isl
Name: fre; MessagesFile: compiler:Languages\French.isl; LicenseFile: C:\License d'utilisation.txt; InfoBeforeFile: C:\préliminaires.rtf; InfoAfterFile:C:\additionnelles.rtf
Name: ger; MessagesFile: compiler:Languages\German.isl; LicenseFile:C:\Licsence.txt; InfoBeforeFile: C:\preinfo_German.rtf; InfoAfterFile: C:\postinfo_German.rtf
Name: hun; MessagesFile: compiler:Languages\Hungarian.isl
Name: ita; MessagesFile: compiler:Languages\Italian.isl
Name: nor; MessagesFile: compiler:Languages\Norwegian.isl
Name: pol; MessagesFile: compiler:Languages\Polish.isl
Name: por; MessagesFile: compiler:Languages\Portuguese.isl
Name: rus; MessagesFile: compiler:Languages\Russian.isl
Name: slo; MessagesFile: compiler:Languages\Slovenian.isl


Each language needs to be on one line' starting with name, the forums messed it up.
Darth_Spiderpig
Sith Master
Sith Master
Posts: 2631
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2009 10:23 am
Projects :: Something cool...
Games I'm Playing :: BF2 CoDBO BFBC2
xbox live or psn: Has no xbox....Yup
Location: Does whatever a Spiderpig does
Contact:

Re: How to make an Installer for your map (Using Inno Setup)

Post by Darth_Spiderpig »

Hey there, sorry to bump this but I've got a problem.

Whenever I try to install my map using this method, it tells me (right after the destination folder setup) that the folder name cannot include an of the following characters:
/ : * ? " < >
and crashes
But the only one of them is the : right after the C (C:/Program Files/...)

here'S the setup part in the .iss:
Hidden/Spoiler:
[code]DefaultDirName={pf}\LucasArts\Star Wars Battlefront II\GameData\AddOn\LPR
DefaultGroupName={#MyAppName}
LicenseFile=C:\Users\Patrik\Desktop\mapinstaller\license.txt
InfoBeforeFile=C:\Users\Patrik\Desktop\mapinstaller\infobefore.rtf
InfoAfterFile=C:\Users\Patrik\Desktop\mapinstaller\infoafter.rtf
OutputDir=C:\Users\Patrik\Desktop
OutputBaseFilename=Geonosis_Landing_at_Point_Rain_installer[/code]
ANyone knows what could be wrong?
[Padawan]Helkaan
Sith
Sith
Posts: 1444
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2010 3:01 pm
Projects :: Dunno. Maybe making something
Games I'm Playing :: Some.

Re: How to make an Installer for your map (Using Inno Setup)

Post by [Padawan]Helkaan »

Once it doesn't support / and :, try to replace "Program Files (x86)" by "%PROGRAMFILES%". I don't know if it works fine, but I remember seeing this problem on a forum, and someone gave this tip...
Darth_Spiderpig
Sith Master
Sith Master
Posts: 2631
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2009 10:23 am
Projects :: Something cool...
Games I'm Playing :: BF2 CoDBO BFBC2
xbox live or psn: Has no xbox....Yup
Location: Does whatever a Spiderpig does
Contact:

Re: How to make an Installer for your map (Using Inno Setup)

Post by Darth_Spiderpig »

Okay, will try.
Thanks!

EDIT:

Didn't work, but I got it to work in an other way:

I had set the MyAppName and MyAppPublisher to something containing ":", removing it and recompiling solved this. :)
Post Reply