How to edit a shipped map! SUPER EASY! (FAQ)

In this forum you will find and post information regarding the modding of Star Wars Battlefront 2. DO NOT POST MOD IDEAS/REQUESTS.

Moderator: Moderators

DeathRow
Master Bounty Hunter
Master Bounty Hunter
Posts: 1561
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2006 5:55 am
Projects :: None.
Games I'm Playing :: Life
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: Aussieland.

RE: How to edit a shipped map! SUPER EASY!

Post by DeathRow »

How to edit a shipped map, the EASY way!

1. Make your three letter map. I will use ABC as an example. I am copying Kamino over in this example. I am being as descriptive as possible so that beginners can understand as well.

2. Got to C:\BF2_ModTools\data_ABC\Worlds\ABC and rename the world1 folder to world2

3. Go to C:\BF2_ModTools\assets\worlds and copy the map you want. I chose Kamino so that’s the folder kam. Now when I copy I am only copying the sub directories. I AM NOT COPYING KAM TOO. only copy "effects", "msh", "MUNGED", "odf", & "world1"

4. Paste those folders to: C:\BF2_ModTools\data_ABC\Worlds\ABC

5. Now swap the world1 and world2 folders names, making the Kamino core world files to be in the world2 directory and my ABC core files in world 1. I’m not sure if this is needed but I did it anyhow.

6. Now go to C:\BF2_ModTools\assets\scripts\kam and copy the script of the corresponding game mode you are creating. I chose conquest galactic civil war. So I copied the contents of KAM1g_con.lua and pasted into C:\BF2_ModTools\data_ABC\Common\scripts\ABC\ABCg_con.lua. Now if you are a pro at lua’s then you might not need to do this step.

7. Here is the easiest and most important part. Now in the lua we just updated in step 6, C:\BF2_ModTools\data_ABC\Common\scripts\ABC\ABCg_con.lua in this example, go to the line where it loads the world. If you copied the script from the assets it will look like this. (its about 3/4 a ways down)

ReadDataFile("kam\\kam1.lvl", "kamino1_conquest")

Change it to:

ReadDataFile("dc:ABC\\kam1.lvl", "kamino1_conquest")

8. Now you can open Zero Editor. Load kamino.wld. Now edit at your pleasure and have fun! The best part is your cp’s are already set, you don’t have to delete your original abc.wld’s cp's because your not loading it at all. Just select the layer of your gametype and add add add. Or goto the base layer and delete delete delete.



Thanks! This is very simple and easy to understand.
Qdin
Old School Staff
Posts: 2059
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2005 9:54 am
Projects :: No Mod project currently.
Games I'm Playing :: I have not listed any games yet
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

RE: How to edit a shipped map! SUPER EASY!

Post by Qdin »

yep - really really nice :P I'm adding it to the Everything You Need Thread list! :P
Dymon
Lance Corporal
Posts: 90
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 7:24 am
Projects :: No Mod project currently.
Games I'm Playing :: I have not listed any games yet
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

RE: How to edit a shipped map! SUPER EASY!

Post by Dymon »

lol... thx guy... I was writing another thread with a question how to do this right now ^^
allright i'll try this :)
wazmol
High General
High General
Posts: 892
Joined: Sat Sep 02, 2006 6:47 pm
Projects :: Thinking...
Games I'm Playing :: Black Ops
Location: London
Contact:

RE: How to edit a shipped map! SUPER EASY!

Post by wazmol »

awesome i have been asking for this for ages.

Thanks alot ;)
User avatar
trainmaster611
Sith Lord
Sith Lord
Posts: 1779
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 5:22 pm
Projects :: No Mod project currently.
Games I'm Playing :: I have not listed any games yet
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: Building a railway to Coruscant
Contact:

RE: How to edit a shipped map! SUPER EASY!

Post by trainmaster611 »

Neat find! This will be very helpful! :P
User avatar
phazon_elite
Rebel Colonel
Rebel Colonel
Posts: 597
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 9:10 pm
Projects :: No Mod project currently.
Games I'm Playing :: I have not listed any games yet
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: I'm sorry Link, I can't give the location. Come back when you're a little...mmmh...RICHER!
Contact:

RE: How to edit a shipped map! SUPER EASY!

Post by phazon_elite »

Funny how you used Kamino as the example, since I did the same thing when making my Modded Kamino. Nice tut, I'm glad we have another part of the everything you need guide.
Droideka88

RE: How to edit a shipped map! SUPER EASY!

Post by Droideka88 »

This will be handy for making a Mustafar movie edition.......

To the author: Your avatar is too big. Make it smaller.
dgass

RE: How to edit a shipped map! SUPER EASY!

Post by dgass »

nice, thanks! (i dont even know how to color in ze)
Darth_Z13
Jedi High Council
Jedi High Council
Posts: 2275
Joined: Sat Jun 17, 2006 9:51 am
xbox live or psn: Xanthius Wylon
Location: Canada

RE: How to edit a shipped map! SUPER EASY!

Post by Darth_Z13 »

@dgass, you click "Color" and then you choose a colour and click and drag the same as you would to raise terrain.
User avatar
Frisbeetarian
Jedi
Jedi
Posts: 1233
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 3:13 pm

Re: How to edit a shipped map! SUPER EASY! (FAQ)

Post by Frisbeetarian »

The way posted above is a little round-about, and keeps unnecessary files, here's an easier way:

1. Make a new map. For example purposes, this map will be called ABC and the shipped map used will be Kamino (KAM).

2. Go to …\BF2_ModTools\data_ABC\Worlds\ABC and delete the world1 folder.

3. Go to …\BF2_ModTools\assets\worlds\KAM and copy all the contained folders; they should be: effects, msh, MUNGED, odf, and world1.

4. Paste those folders to: …\BF2_ModTools\data_ABC\Worlds\ABC.

5. Go to …\BF2_ModTools\assets\scripts\kam and copy the contents of the scripts that correspond to the game modes of the newly created map. Paste the copied contents into the corresponding files (in …\BF2_ModTools\data_ABC\Common\scripts\ABC), deleting the old contents (ex. KAM1c_con.lua -> ABCc_con.lua). (Alternatively, copy the scripts from KAM, paste them alongside the scripts for ABC, delete the corresponding scripts and rename the KAM scripts to match the old names.)

6. In each of the new .lua scripts go to the line where it loads the world:

Code: Select all

ReadDataFile("kam\\kam1.lvl", "kamino1_conquest")
and change it to:

Code: Select all

ReadDataFile("dc:ABC\\kam1.lvl", "kamino1_conquest")
7. The process is now complete. When editing the world with Zeroeditor, open kamino.wld from …\BF2_ModTools\data_ABC\Worlds\ABC\world1.
User avatar
Teancum
Jedi Admin
Jedi Admin
Posts: 11080
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2005 11:42 pm
Projects :: No Mod project currently.
Games I'm Playing :: Destiny
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: Indiana

Re: How to edit a shipped map! SUPER EASY! (FAQ)

Post by Teancum »

You can actually streamline it yet again if you are only doing side changes (no changes to the physical map) by loading the default map asset:

ReadDataFile("kam\\kam1.lvl", "kamino1_conquest")

No reason to load a map from the addon folder if you're not using it. It also makes the download size much smaller.
JROD
Private Recruit
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2009 8:00 pm

Re: How to edit a shipped map! SUPER EASY! (FAQ)

Post by JROD »

if I'm copying mos eisley hero assault and there is no "world1" on mos eisley, how does it differ? Do you simply change the thing in the scripts from "tat1" to "tat2"?? Please help with this.

------------------------------------------------------->EDIT<--------------------------------------------------------
Ok, you solved my problem. Thanks very much.
Last edited by JROD on Wed Feb 18, 2009 5:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Frisbeetarian
Jedi
Jedi
Posts: 1233
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 3:13 pm

Re: How to edit a shipped map! SUPER EASY! (FAQ)

Post by Frisbeetarian »

Since there's no world1 folder, take the world2 folder and paste it in like the tutorial says, and rename it world1.

In terms of the scripts, since there are no "tat1" scripts
5. Go to …\BF2_ModTools\assets\scripts\tat and copy the contents of the scripts that correspond to the game modes of the newly created map. Paste the copied contents into the corresponding files (in …\BF2_ModTools\data_ABC\Common\scripts\ABC), deleting the old contents (ex. tat2g_eli.lua -> ABCg_eli.lua).
You'll want to, of course, follow step 6 after this as well, noting that you should only be doing this if you plan on editing the world in ZE, otherwise you just do what Tean said in the post before yours.
User avatar
skelltor
Sith
Sith
Posts: 1431
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 6:24 pm
Projects :: BFSM
Games I'm Playing :: SWBFII
xbox live or psn: skelltor95
Location: minisnowta
Contact:

Re: How to edit a shipped map! SUPER EASY! (FAQ)

Post by skelltor »

umm what if there is no munged folder
mswf
Master Bounty Hunter
Master Bounty Hunter
Posts: 1674
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2009 3:40 pm
Location: Twello, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: How to edit a shipped map! SUPER EASY! (FAQ)

Post by mswf »

Did you try and see what happened if you follow the rest of the tut?
User avatar
skelltor
Sith
Sith
Posts: 1431
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 6:24 pm
Projects :: BFSM
Games I'm Playing :: SWBFII
xbox live or psn: skelltor95
Location: minisnowta
Contact:

Re: How to edit a shipped map! SUPER EASY! (FAQ)

Post by skelltor »

yah i did finnish it and i think i did everything right and i edited the lua but there are no changes when i play it in bf2 modtools
mswf
Master Bounty Hunter
Master Bounty Hunter
Posts: 1674
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2009 3:40 pm
Location: Twello, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: How to edit a shipped map! SUPER EASY! (FAQ)

Post by mswf »

You have to load the correct .wrld file. You need to browse to it when you select "load" in zeroeditor. (the stock one you're editing should be in the world1/world2/whatever you named that folder that you copied over)
User avatar
skelltor
Sith
Sith
Posts: 1431
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 6:24 pm
Projects :: BFSM
Games I'm Playing :: SWBFII
xbox live or psn: skelltor95
Location: minisnowta
Contact:

Re: How to edit a shipped map! SUPER EASY! (FAQ)

Post by skelltor »

oh zero editor dosent work for me
mswf
Master Bounty Hunter
Master Bounty Hunter
Posts: 1674
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2009 3:40 pm
Location: Twello, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: How to edit a shipped map! SUPER EASY! (FAQ)

Post by mswf »

:|
So, what do you want to change from the original then? It's kind of strange to try and edit a stock world if you can't use the editor.
User avatar
skelltor
Sith
Sith
Posts: 1431
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 6:24 pm
Projects :: BFSM
Games I'm Playing :: SWBFII
xbox live or psn: skelltor95
Location: minisnowta
Contact:

Re: How to edit a shipped map! SUPER EASY! (FAQ)

Post by skelltor »

i want to edit wich hero are used and unit line up unit ammount what units are used stuff like that
Post Reply