Tut: How to fix missing sounds without new lvl! (FAQ)

In this forum you will find and post information regarding the modding of Star Wars Battlefront 2. DO NOT POST MOD IDEAS/REQUESTS.

Moderator: Moderators

Sith Master
User avatar
Posts: 2768
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2007 10:51 am
Location: Ghosting around GT
Projects :: Battlefront Zer0
Games I'm Playing :: SWTOR
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Tut: How to fix missing sounds without new lvl! (FAQ)

Postby MandeRek » Tue Apr 15, 2008 2:31 pm

I found this, very simple, but it works as well :)

Let's say you're adding nice new things, or things from another era, and the sounds are missing.. Rends' tut is good, not to hard, but you don't know the sound names, or there is not lvl file after munging etc. etc... Here's the thing:

1. Check what sounds are missing.. In my map, the ATAT sounds are missing
2. Check in what map the ATAT is.. I noticed in hoth conguest, gcw.
3. Go to Lucasarts\Star Wars Battlefront II\Gamedata\data\_lvl_pc\sound , and copy the 3 letter file from the world the sound was in, in this case, hoth, so hot.lvl
4. Place this lvl in the Lucasarts\Star Wars Battlefront II\Gamedata\addon\{yourmap3lettredname}\data\_LVL_PC\sound

Probably the sound folder isn't there yet; create it!

5. I took sounds from Hoth GCW Conguest; go to it's script in BF2_ModTools\assets\scripts, so in the hot folder, and then hot1g_con.lua. Notice the sound line above the team lines, like this:


Code: Select all
    ReadDataFile("sound\\hot.lvl;hot1gcw")  <--------------------------------------
    ReadDataFile("SIDE\\all.lvl",
                             "all_fly_snowspeeder",
                             "all_inf_rifleman_snow


6. Copy that line, paste it into your lua, but then with dc:, like:

Code: Select all
    ReadDataFile("dc:sound\\hot.lvl;hot1gcw")  <---------------notice dc:
    ReadDataFile("sound\\cor.lvl;cor1cw")
    ReadDataFile("dc:SIDE\\man.lvl",
                             "rep_hero_kitfisto",
                             "rep_hero_roroncorobb",


Save the lua, munge and check! For all my tries, it worked :thumbs:

Jedi Admin
User avatar
Posts: 7420
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 11:03 pm

Re: Tut: How to fix missing sounds without new lvl!

Postby Maveritchell » Tue Apr 15, 2008 2:36 pm

You shouldn't want or need to put "dc:" by that readdatafile. Unless you've moved the hot.lvl sound .lvl file into your addon folder, I'm pretty sure that you're just telling it to look for downloadable content that's not there.

Code: Select all
ReadDataFile("sound\\hot.lvl;hot1gcw")


Just use the line like that, and you'll load directly from the stock level.

Sith Master
User avatar
Posts: 2768
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2007 10:51 am
Location: Ghosting around GT
Projects :: Battlefront Zer0
Games I'm Playing :: SWTOR
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: Tut: How to fix missing sounds without new lvl!

Postby MandeRek » Tue Apr 15, 2008 3:00 pm

I know man! Only when i did it without dc:, it didn't work for me :?

Might be the buggy map though..

Jedi Admin
User avatar
Posts: 11025
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2005 11:42 pm
Location: Indiana
Projects :: No Mod project currently.
Games I'm Playing :: Destiny
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: Tut: How to fix missing sounds without new lvl!

Postby Teancum » Tue Apr 15, 2008 3:31 pm

Yep, so long as a second sound lvl doesn't overwrite existing sounds you can use em.

Gametoast Staff
User avatar
Posts: 2267
Joined: Sat May 13, 2006 12:34 am
Location: Origin name GT_FragMe
Projects :: Not sure keep changing my mind.
Games I'm Playing :: F1 and SWBF
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: Tut: How to fix missing sounds without new lvl!

Postby FragMe! » Tue Apr 15, 2008 4:04 pm

MandeRek wrote:I know man! Only when i did it without dc:, it didn't work for me :?

Might be the buggy map though..

I have had similar experience when doing Sewers you would get some sounds back but lose others by putting in two ReadDataFile statements for sound without the dc:, never tried it the way you mentioned and maybe I will and see if that works.

As an addendum to this and to deal the most common weapon sound problem for heros, the only level (that I'm aware of) that has all the hero sounds is the TAT.lvl sound file used for Mos Eislely.

High General
User avatar
Posts: 895
Joined: Sat Sep 02, 2006 6:47 pm
Location: London
Projects :: Thinking...
Games I'm Playing :: Black Ops

Re: Tut: How to fix missing sounds without new lvl!

Postby wazmol » Tue Apr 15, 2008 4:33 pm

It does actually get rid of some of the other sounds, like normal fireing of a rifle is making no sound now...

Sith Master
User avatar
Posts: 2768
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2007 10:51 am
Location: Ghosting around GT
Projects :: Battlefront Zer0
Games I'm Playing :: SWTOR
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: Tut: How to fix missing sounds without new lvl!

Postby MandeRek » Tue Apr 15, 2008 6:02 pm

The game can only load one sound file from stock i think; that why rends' tut is there as well, to add missing sounds with a new dc:-.lvl file! This is basicly that, only you use an assets one with all sounds from there!

For heroes; there are no missing hero sounds possible i believe, in standard modding maps.. Normally sounds start missing when changing an era, or adding something that sound.lvl's world didn't include..

Hope this tut is usefull though, i know it worked for 4 people now!

High General
User avatar
Posts: 850
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 9:59 pm
Projects :: No Mod project currently.

Re: Tut: How to fix missing sounds without new lvl! (FAQ)

Postby Commander_Fett » Sun Mar 01, 2009 6:41 pm

Well, I can't seem to get this to work for me. I had the sounds working fine, with the geo music, but the flyers had no sound, so I copied spa.lvl from the stock music lvl files to my own map's sound folders, and set up the ReadDataFile section like so:
Code: Select all
   
    ReadDataFile("sound\\geo.lvl;geo1cw")
ReadDataFile("dc:sound\\spa.lvl;spa2cw")


but the space sounds didn't show up. I did it like this:
Code: Select all
ReadDataFile("dc:sound\\spa.lvl;spa2cw")
    ReadDataFile("sound\\geo.lvl;geo1cw")


and it reads the space sounds, but not the geo ones. Am I doing something wrong?

Recruit Womprat Killer
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2007 5:49 pm

Re: Tut: How to fix missing sounds without new lvl! (FAQ)

Postby Kai » Mon Mar 02, 2009 12:22 am

Wow, I did the exact samething as Fett, and yeah, what ever one I put on the top, is the sound file it would load, I tried with and without :dc but I couldn't get anything. Of course, I just quit after zeroeditor stopped loading my map completly. If anyone knows something, Id appreciate it. I could never get space sounds working on the floor so yah.

Jedi Admin
User avatar
Posts: 7420
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 11:03 pm

Re: Tut: How to fix missing sounds without new lvl! (FAQ)

Postby Maveritchell » Mon Mar 02, 2009 2:13 pm

Your problem (and the reason that using sounds like this tutorial suggests will inevitably lead to issues) is that you can't load two of the same sounds from two different .lvl files (like Teancum mentioned in the fourth post). If you want to add missing vehicle sounds, you will almost inevitably need to munge a new sound .lvl file yourself - fortunately Rends made a very easy and clear tutorial on this. Follow it, do what it says, and if you do it correctly your sounds will be heard.

High General
User avatar
Posts: 850
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 9:59 pm
Projects :: No Mod project currently.

Re: Tut: How to fix missing sounds without new lvl! (FAQ)

Postby Commander_Fett » Mon Mar 02, 2009 7:53 pm

Okay Mav, I'll try that. Somebody uploaded a virus to my comp over xfire or BF2 multiplayer, so I can't right now, though. However, if I may ask, can you read the same thing twice in the .sfx file, or should I look through for extra snippets of repeated code? (I was gonnna try that today, until the virus came up)

Jedi Admin
User avatar
Posts: 7420
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 11:03 pm

Re: Tut: How to fix missing sounds without new lvl! (FAQ)

Postby Maveritchell » Mon Mar 02, 2009 8:00 pm

You should always make sure both .sfx files and .snd files are as free of repetition as possible. The .snd files are essentially like a req file, and I believe it truly only matters what's called in that - however, I personally always doublecheck both, because "better safe than sorry." Better than necessary is always good enough.

Private Third Class
User avatar
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2017 5:14 pm
Location: PerĂº
Projects :: Battlefront Redux
Games I'm Playing :: League of Legends
xbox live or psn: TheRaigiku

Re: Tut: How to fix missing sounds without new lvl! (FAQ)

Postby Raigiku » Wed Jul 19, 2017 11:48 pm

Thank you so much not all heroes wear capes! :D

Return to SWBF2 Modding

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests