Split Screen on pc?

Talk and share anything related to Star Wars Battlefront 2. No maps or mod announcements here. Use Work in Progress forum.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
Kingpin
Jedi
Jedi
Posts: 1089
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2013 7:09 pm
Projects :: The Sith Wars II
Location: Denver, CO
Contact:

Split Screen on pc?

Post by Kingpin »

I was going through some files and saw this:
Image
Is split screen possible on pc?
Teancum
Jedi Admin
Jedi Admin
Posts: 11031
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2005 11:42 pm
Projects :: No Mod project currently.
Games I'm Playing :: Destiny
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: Indiana

Re: Split Screen on pc?

Post by Teancum »

Just console leftovers. Tried doing it but the PC doesn't support multiple control sets or view ports.
Kingpin
Jedi
Jedi
Posts: 1089
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2013 7:09 pm
Projects :: The Sith Wars II
Location: Denver, CO
Contact:

Re: Split Screen on pc?

Post by Kingpin »

Teancum wrote:Just console leftovers. Tried doing it but the PC doesn't support multiple control sets or view ports.
That's a bummer. Is it possible to run two instances of the game at the same time? Maybe connecting on a multiplayer server together?
AnthonyBF2
Jedi
Jedi
Posts: 1210
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2013 3:55 pm
Projects :: SWBF2 PSP+PS2 Conversion
Location: San Diego

Re: Split Screen on pc?

Post by AnthonyBF2 »

Kingpin wrote:
Teancum wrote:Just console leftovers. Tried doing it but the PC doesn't support multiple control sets or view ports.
That's a bummer. Is it possible to run two instances of the game at the same time? Maybe connecting on a multiplayer server together?
I second this question, that would be sweet.
Teancum
Jedi Admin
Jedi Admin
Posts: 11031
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2005 11:42 pm
Projects :: No Mod project currently.
Games I'm Playing :: Destiny
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: Indiana

Re: Split Screen on pc?

Post by Teancum »

Kingpin wrote:That's a bummer. Is it possible to run two instances of the game at the same time? Maybe connecting on a multiplayer server together?
How would that work? I mean *maybe* dual monitors, but then you're also talking about doubling CPU processes, etc.
Kingpin
Jedi
Jedi
Posts: 1089
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2013 7:09 pm
Projects :: The Sith Wars II
Location: Denver, CO
Contact:

Re: Split Screen on pc?

Post by Kingpin »

Teancum wrote:
Kingpin wrote:That's a bummer. Is it possible to run two instances of the game at the same time? Maybe connecting on a multiplayer server together?
How would that work? I mean *maybe* dual monitors, but then you're also talking about doubling CPU processes, etc.
Yes, it would be dual monitors. Say you install the game once in program files, one in program files x86, change the .exe name, run them both and but them on separate screens.
Teancum
Jedi Admin
Jedi Admin
Posts: 11031
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2005 11:42 pm
Projects :: No Mod project currently.
Games I'm Playing :: Destiny
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: Indiana

Re: Split Screen on pc?

Post by Teancum »

You still have the issue of the game only accepting one set of inputs.
Kingpin
Jedi
Jedi
Posts: 1089
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2013 7:09 pm
Projects :: The Sith Wars II
Location: Denver, CO
Contact:

Re: Split Screen on pc?

Post by Kingpin »

Teancum wrote:You still have the issue of the game only accepting one set of inputs.
Use an Xbox 360 controller and a keyboard/mouse. Set the first instance to one and the second to the other.
User avatar
Anakin
Master of the Force
Master of the Force
Posts: 4781
Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2009 11:37 am
Projects :: RC Side Mod - Remastered - SWBF3 Legacy
Location: Mos Espa (germany)

Re: Split Screen on pc?

Post by Anakin »

why don't you try?? Alternative: make a virtual machine with Windows Server, and set up your two monitors and controllers as base station. So you actually are running a server with two PCs on it. But i have no idea how to do that
Kingpin
Jedi
Jedi
Posts: 1089
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2013 7:09 pm
Projects :: The Sith Wars II
Location: Denver, CO
Contact:

Re: Split Screen on pc?

Post by Kingpin »

Anakin wrote:why don't you try?? Alternative: make a virtual machine with Windows Server, and set up your two monitors and controllers as base station. So you actually are running a server with two PCs on it. But i have no idea how to do that
My second monitor died a few months ago, otherwise I would have just tried. I am trying to think if there is a way to use applications on half the screen.
Post Reply